M. G. Ramachandran

  • Actor, Director, Producer

Jan 17, 1917  in Kandy, Sri Lanka

Also Known as: M.G.R

No ads

Well known as "Makkal Thilagam" (People's King) in Tamil Nadu, Marudur Gopalan Ramachandran was an Indian actor, filmmaker and politician, known for his work in the Tamil industry. Popularly called MGR, he made his acting debut in a supporting role in the 1936 film Sathi Leelavathi. MGR got his first lead role in the 1950 movie, Manthiri Kumari. It was written by current politician, M. Karunanidhi. But it was the 1954 movie, Malaikallan, which own the President's Silver Medal, that put MGR firmly amongst the top Tamil heroes of the era.

MGR went on to act in hit movies like Marmayogi (1951), Kundukkili (1954), Alibabhavum Narpathu Thirudargalum (1955), Gul-E-Bakavali (1956), Mahadevi (1957), Nadodi Mannan (1958), Baghdad Thirudan (1960), Thaai Sollai Thattathey (1961), Shabash Mappillai (1961), Thayai Katha Thanayan (1962), Kudumba Thalaivan (1962), Needhikkupin Pasam (1963), Kalai Arasi (1963), Dharmam Thalai Kakum (1963), Thayin Madiyil (1964), Panakara Kudumbam (1964), Panam Padaithavan (1965), Enga Veetu Pillai (1965), Petral Than Pillayya (1966), Parakkum Pavai (1966), Naan Anaittal (1966), Vivasaayee (1967), Rahasya Police 115 (1968), Oli Vilakku (1968), Kudiyiruntha Koyil (1968), Kadhal Vaganam (1968), Adimai Penn (1969), Sirithu Vazha Vendum (1974), Nalai Namadhe (1975), Oorukku Uzhaippavan (1976), Needhikku Thalai Vanangu (1976) and Indru Pol Endrum Vazhga (1977). He won the National Film Award for Best Actor in 1971 for Rickshawkaran. MGR also won the Filmfare awards for Enga Veettu Pillai and Adimai Penn. He was awarded the Bharat Ratna by the Government of India posthumously in 1988 for his contribution in the field of Films and Politics.

In 1953 MGR joined Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on the insistence of his friend and mentor, C.N. Annadurai. He founded a new party after Annadurai's death. MGR named it the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and won the elections in 1977. MGR served as the Chief Minister from 1977 to 1987 for three consecutive terms. MGR passed away on 24 December 1987 after a prolonged illness.