Symphony Orchestra of India: From an Outlandish Idea to a World-Class Orchestra

Symphony Orchestra of India: From an Outlandish Idea to a World-Class Orchestra
Written by Stacey Prince

India’s first and only professional orchestra the Symphony Orchestra of India (SOI) was founded in 2006 and has since been hitting all the right notes. Based at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA) in Mumbai it was founded by NCPA Chairman Khushroo N. Suntook and internationally-renowned violin maestro Marat Bisengaliev. What started as an outlandish idea is now a world-class orchestra that has performed world-over like Russia, Oman, Abu Dhabi and, Switzerland.

The Symphony Orchestra of India has new performances in August and then the Autumn 2018 season begins in September. The SOI Autumn 2018 season will start on September 4 and will end on September 16, 2018. This year’s Autumn season has an exciting lineup that includes artistes like Alexander Lazarev, Nurit Stark, Zane Dalal, Alexei Volodin and Marat Bisengaliev.

 Symphony Orchestra of India

This Autumn season will begin with a programme conducted by one of Russia’s top conductors – Alexander Lazarev who will be performing in India for the first time ever. This programme will also feature Israeli violinist Nurit Stark, an alumni of The Juilliard School performing live. Alexander Lazarev will be the conductor for the first two concerts. He will definitely bring the music to life and you should be there to witness it. The programme also features works by Mozart & Stravinsky.

For a country not well-versed with western classical music, the Symphony Orchestra of India is slowly but gradually changing the musical taste of the people in India. The Orchestra has a number of Indian players too which helps the homegrown talents.

Many of the SOI musicians are also teachers who tutor and train students in orchestral playing.

It may have started off as an idea by NCPA chairman Kushroo Suntook but it took off and after 12 years, it can rightly be called a world-class orchestra.

> >

About the author

Stacey Prince

Leave a Comment