Cricket Sports

Gear up for IPL 2016

IPL 2016 schedule
Written by Mansi Gupta

Cricket is the number one sport in the country. Matches that feature Team India gain high viewership and people worship the cricketers. While the Indian Cricket team have recently culminated a decent tour against South Africa, they have also been in the news for the T20 World Cup. The tournament will be held in India and the selectors have announced the squad that will be a part of it.

Besides that, a lot is written about the IPL 2016. The popular Indian League will have its ninth edition, next year. For the 2016 season of the Indian Premier League, a lot of changes have been made. Since the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings are suspended for two years, the organizers decided to replace them with two new teams. Though the names of these two teams haven’t been announced, they will represent the cities of Pune and Rajkot. If one recollects, Pune did have their team called the Pune Warriors, which played for three seasons before becoming defunct. Since the Chennai and Rajasthan franchise got suspended, the players were open for auction and the new teams have picked most of them.

The Rajkot team will have Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Brendon McCullum, James Faulkner and Dwayne Bravo playing for them. On the other hand, the Pune team have signed MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Steven Smith and Faf du Plessis to play for them. While the Rajkot team are debating between Suresh Raina and Brendon McCullum as the captain, the Pune franchise has announced MS Dhoni as their skipper. This will also be the first time that MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina will be representing different teams. The players are known to be good friends and their combination has worked wonders for the Chennai team.

The remaining players of the Chennai and Rajasthan teams will be brought by the other franchises. To accommodate these players, they will let go of some of their current ones. Besides Pune and Rajkot, the other teams participating are the Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The tournament will be held from 9th April to 29th May.

The Indian Premier League has always been the number one cricketing league in the world. Some of cricket’s biggest names participate in it and with the addition of two new teams, the IPL 2016 will surely be a fantastic tournament.

> > >

About the author

Mansi Gupta

A passionate reader, an avid traveler, a day dreamer and a “self-proclaimed biggest fan” of Game of Thrones.

Leave a Comment