Cricket Sports

IPL 2018 Auction: Which Players Have Been Retained

Written by Varsha Pillai
The 11th season of the Indian Premier League is slated to run from April 7 to May 27. Before the season commences, there will be a player auction at Bengaluru on January 27th and 28th , 2018.

From a pool of 1122 players, 578 cricketers would be up for auction. 360 of them are Indian and the rest are overseas players. Out of the 578 cricketers, 244 are capped players, 332 are uncapped and the remaining 2 are associate players.

Here’s a rundown on all the players that have been retained by their respective team pre-auctions:

The defending champions, Mumbai Indians have decided to retain Rohit Sharma for a bid of 15 crores, Hardik Pandya for 11 crores and Jasprit Bumrah for 7 crores.

Delhi Daredevils have retained Rishabh Pant for 8 crores, Chris Morris for 7.1 crores and Shreyas Iyer for 7 crores.

Chennai Super Kings have chosen to retain MS Dhoni for 15 crores, Suresh Raina for 11 crores and Ravindra Jadeja for 7 crores.

Rajasthan Royals have retained Australian cricketer Steven Smith for 12.5 crores.

Kolkata Knight Riders have chosen to retain the overseas players Sunil Narine and Andre Russell for a bid price of 8.5 crores and 7 crores respectively.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have chosen to spend 17 crores to retain Virat Kohli. Virat Kohli has been associated with Royal Challengers Bangalore for the past 11 seasons.

King’s XI Punjab have retained Axar Patel for 6.5 crores while Sunrise Hyderabad have retained David Warner for 12 crores and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for 8.5 crores.

> > >

About the author

Varsha Pillai

She’s human. At least that’s what she’ll tell you. Dare you tell her that she has a good sense of humor and be prepared to be the lab rat for all her lame jokes for the rest of your life. Apart from that, she’s got a master’s degree in ‘Being a 4 a.m. friend’ and is currently pursuing her PhD in making instant noodles.

Leave a Comment