Cricket Sports

IPL 2018: Looking Back At 10 Records Set Throughout 10 Seasons Of IPL

IPL History till date
Written by Heenal Shah

It has been ten years since the Indian Premier League kick-started. And now one of the most celebrated Twenty20 tournaments, IPL is back with its 11th edition.
When it comes to sports, records are meant to be broken. Throughout the years IPL has managed to bring together a cricketing spectacle like no other. In the last 10 seasons there has been an abundance of unforgettable moments where records were broken and history was created.
Here is a look at 10 individual as well as team records that were broken in the history of IPL.

Vivo IPL 2019 Match Tickets are Available Here:
Mumbai Indians (MI) Match Tickets
Rajasthan Royals (RR) Match Tickets
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Match Tickets
Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Match Tickets

1. Most Runs

With a massive total of 4,540 runs in 161 matches, Suresh Raina tops the list for the most runs scored in the history of IPL. Suresh Raina played for CSK for 8 years. Since last two years he was the captain for Gujarat Lions. Suresh Raina will be returning to CSK this year.

Suresh Raina - Highest Run Getter in IPL

Take a look at the top 5 run getters on the list:

Batsman Inns Runs Period Franchise
Suresh Raina (IND) 157 4540 2008–2017 CSK, GL
Virat Kohli (IND) 141 4418 2008–2017 RCB
Rohit Sharma (IND) 154 4207 2008–2017 DC, MI
Gautam Gambhir (IND) 147 4132 2008–2017 DD, KKR
David Warner (AUS) 114 4014 2009–2017 DD, SRH

2. Most Wickets

Lasith Malinga, the Sri Lankan bowler is the highest wicket-taker in the ten seasons of IPL. With a whopping total of 154 wickets, Malinga is so far the only bowler to take 150+ wickets in history of IPL.

Have a look at the top 5 Wicket Takers on the list:

Bowler Inn Wkts Period Franchise
Lasith Malinga 110 154 2009–2017 MI
Amit Mishra 126 134 2008–2017 DC, DD, SRH
Harbhajan Singh 134 127 2008–2017 MI
Piyush Chawla 128 126 2008–2017 KXIP, KKR
Dwayne Bravo 103 122 2008–2016 CSK, GL, MI

3. Highest Individual Score

A match between RCB and Pune Warriors turned out to be a nightmare for the bowlers when Chris Gayle scored 175 runs in 66 balls. The previous record was set by Brendon McCullum in the very first innings of IPL with 158 runs.

Have a look at the top 5 individual scores on the list:

Batsman Franchise Runs Balls Opp Season
Chris Gayle (WI) RCB 175* 66 PWI 2013
B McCullum (NZ) KKR 158* 73 RCB 2008
AB de Villiers (SA) RCB 133* 59 MI 2015
AB de Villiers (SA) RCB 129* 52 GL 2016
Chris Gayle (WI) RCB 128* 62 DD 2012

4. Most Sixes and Centuries

When it comes to IPL, Chris Gayle is known as the king of sixes. The ball was often spotted on the rooftop of the Stadiums. In 101 matches, Gayle has hit as many as 265 sixes, most of them at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.
He has also managed to score the most number of centuries in the history of IPL, 5 being the total.

Have a look at the top 5 Players on the list:

Batsman Franchise Inn 6’s Period
Chris Gayle (WI) KKR, RCB 100 265 2009–2017
Suresh Raina (IND) CSK, GL 157 173 2008–2017
Rohit Sharma (IND) DC, MI 154 172 2008–2017
David Warner (AUS) DD, SRH 114 160 2009–2017
Virat Kohli (IND) RCB 141 159 2008–2017

5. Highest Team Total

Unbelievably or so RCB scored 263 runs in a match against Pune Warriors who lost by 130 runs. This is not only the highest team total in IPL, but also the highest innings in a T20 match. This is the same match of 2013 where Chris Gayle scored 175 runs in 66 balls.

Total Score Team Opponent Season
263/5 Royal Challengers Bangalore Pune Warriors India 2013
248/3 Royal Challengers Bangalore Gujarat Lions 2016
246/5 Chennai Super Kings Rajasthan Royals 2010
240/5 Chennai Super Kings Kings XI Punjab 2008
235/1 Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai Indians 2015

6. Lowest Team Total

Ironic how the team that broke the record for the highest total also set an all-time low score in the history of IPL. In 2017, RCB were bowled out in just 49 runs by KKR, the target being set at 132 runs.

Have a look at the list of the lowest totals in the IPL history:

Score Team Opponent Season
49 Royal Challengers Bangalore Kolkata Knight Riders 2017
58 Rajasthan Royals Royal Challengers Bangalore 2009
66 Delhi Daredevils Mumbai Indians 2017
67 Delhi Daredevils Kings XI Punjab 2017
67 Kolkata Knight Riders Mumbai Indians 2008

7. Best Bowling Figures

The best bowling figures were obtained by the Pakistani bowler, Sohail Tanvir with 6/14 in a match against CSK in the very first season of IPL.

Take a look at the other best bowling figures on the list:

Player BBI Opp Season Franchise
Sohail Tanvir (PAK) 6-14 CSK 2008 RR
Adam Zampa (AUS) 6-19 SRH 2016 RPS
Anil Kumble (IND) 5-5 RR 2009 RCB
Ishant Sharma (IND) 5-12 KTK 2011 DC
Lasith Malinga (SL) 5-13 DD 2011 MI

8. Most hat-tricks

Most of the players would be happy in achieving one hat-trick. But Amit Mishra set an all-time record by claiming three hat-tricks in IPL’s history.

Here’s the Full List of Hat-trick Takers.

Bowler Franchise Opp Season
Lakshmipathy Balaji (IND) CSK KXIP 2008
Amit Mishra (IND) DD DC 2008
Makhaya Ntini (SA) CSK KKR 2008
Yuvraj Singh (IND) KXIP RCB 2009
Rohit Sharma (IND) DC MI 2009
Yuvraj Singh (IND) KXIP DC 2009
Praveen Kumar (IND) RCB RR 2010
Amit Mishra (IND) DC KXIP 2011
Ajit Chandila (IND) RR PWI 2012
Sunil Narine (WI) KKR KXIP 2013
Amit Mishra (IND) SRH PWI 2013
Pravin Tambe (IND) RR KKR 2014
Shane Watson (AUS) RR SRH 2014
Axar Patel (IND) KXIP GL 2016
Samuel Badree (WI) RCB MI 2017
Andrew Tye (AUS) GL RPS 2017
Jaydev Unadkat (IND) RPS SRH 2017

9. Most Wins

The men in blue hold the record for the highest wins in the history of IPL. Mumbai Indians have won a total of 91 matches across the 10 seasons of IPL.

Also have a look at the Win records of all the teams in IPL History.

Team Period Matches Won Lost Win Ratio(%)
Mumbai Indians 2008-2017 157 91 65 58.28
Chennai Super Kings 2008-2015 132 79 51 60.68
Kolkata Knight Riders 2008-2017 148 77 69 52.7
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2008-2017 153 72 76 48.66
Kings XI Punjab 2008-2017 148 68 78 46.62
Delhi Daredevils 2008-2017 147 62 82 43.1
Rajasthan Royals 2008-2015 118 61 53 53.41
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2013-2017 76 41 34 54.6
Deccan Chargers 2008-2012 75 29 46 38.66
Rising Pune Supergiant 2016-2017 30 15 15 50
Gujarat Lions 2016-2017 30 13 16 45
Pune Warriors 2011-2013 46 12 33 26.66
Kochi Tuskers Kerala 2011-2011 14 6 8 42.85

10. Most Title Wins:

Mumbai Indians hold the record here as well by winning 3 titles. KKR and CSK have each won 2 titles. Three captains share the most title wins namely; Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir each wining two titles.

Team Span Titles
Mumbai Indians 2008–2017 3
Kolkata Knight Riders 2008–2017 2
Chennai Super Kings 2008–2015 2
Rajasthan Royals 2008–2015 1
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2013–2017 1
Deccan Chargers 2008–2012 1
> > >

About the author

Heenal Shah

Leave a Comment