The Highly Anticipated, Pro Kabaddi League Season 2, is Finally Here!

Pro Kabaddi Season 2
Written by Prajakta Nagore

The Pro Kabaddi League is India’s only professional Kabaddi Tournament. The first edition of this tournament started on 26th July 2014. It had 8 registered teams consisting of world class players from around the world. It was supervised by Mashal Sports Managing Director, Charu Sharma.

It is played in a ‘caravan format’ in which all 8 teams travel to each venue in order to play 56 league games, 2 semi-finals, 1 third-fourth position game and a Grand Finale, making it a total on 60 matches. Pro Kabaddi League 2014 was won by the Jaipur Pink Panthers. The first season amassed a total of 435 million viewers in India over its five week run. This made it the second highest watched league sport just behind the IPL T-20 which glued 552 million people to their screens. Star Sports were named as the official broadcasters in May 2014 with the online rights going to

Bengal Warriors - PKL 2015

Bengal Warriors – PKL Season 2

The 8 teams were Bengal Warriors, Bengaluru Bulls, Dabang Delhi, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Patna Pirates, Puneri Paltan, Telugu Titans and U Mumba. They all put up a ferocious battle to win the title. The first signing and auction of players was held in Mumbai on 20th May, 2014. India’s national captain Rakesh Kumar was the most expensive player who joined Patna Pirates for Rs. 12.8 lakh.

There are a certain set of rules that are to be followed by the participating teams. The ground must be level covered by a standardized playing mat. The weight limit is below 85 kgs. Random dope tests may be held if required and any person found guilty will be barred for the rest of the season. The play field is that portion of the ground, which measures 13 meters by 8 meters. The sitting block should be as positioned and provided by the league. Each half of the play field must be divided by a central line called the court. There must be a baulk line and a bonus line, both of which are parallel to the central line and are placed 3.75 and 4.75 meters away respectively. The person entering into the opponent’s court is known as the raider and the defending players are called anti-raiders. If the raider touches the anti raider and then successfully reaches back to the court the anti is said to be out. These are the basic rules of Pro Kabaddi League.

The Pro Kabaddi League Season 2 is expected to be a huge hit if the first season was anything to go by. It is expected to start in July 2015.

Don’t miss out on the highly anticipated, Pro Kabaddi League Season 2, it is guaranteed entertainment everyone simply must visit!​

> >

About the author

Prajakta Nagore

Leave a Comment