Aircel Chennai Open 2015

In the run-up to the 20th edition of South Asia’s only ATP tournament (Jan 5-11, 2015), where tennis stars like World no. 4 and Australian Open Champion Wawrinka, Spanish players World no. 15 Bautista-Agut (ATP’s most improved player for 2014) and No. 14 Feliciano Lopez have already confirmed their participation, here is some fascinating trivia:

  • The tournament started as the McDowell India Open in New Delhi in 1996, after which it became the Gold Flake Open in Chennai in 1997, after which it became the Tata Open in 2002, after which it was christened the Chennai Open finally in 2005. Aircel came on board as the primary sponsor in 2010, after which the current title came into effect.
  • The Singles event has 28 players. The Doubles event has 16 teams.
  • Carlos Moya (2004-2005) and current US Open Champion Marin Cilic (2009-2010) are the only players to win back-to-back Singles titles at this tournament. 
  • Belgian Xavier Malisse is the only player to win the Singles and Doubles title in the same year, 2007. He reached another final in 2011, losing to Wawrinka.
  • Wawrinka is the only other player, apart from Moya and Cilic, to win two Chennai Open titles. He won it 2011 and 2014. 
  • Legendary Indian doubles pair Paes and Bhupathi are 5-time winners of the Chennai Open.
  • 8 out of the 20 Singles finals have been decided in 3 sets.
  • Rafael Nadal is a Doubles winner here in 2004 (partnering Robredo, beating Elrich/Ram), reached another Doubles final in 2007 (partnering Salva-Vidal, and losing to Malisse-Norman) and the Singles Final in 2008, where he lost to Russian Mikhail Youzhny after playing the longest ever 3-setter in the semis against idol Carlos Moya.
  • Former Thai star Paradorn Srichaphan is the only Singles player to reach 4 consecutive finals (2002-05), winning the 2003 title without dropping a single set. He lost to Moya in the 2004 and 2005 finals.
  • Moya reached 3 consecutive finals. (2004-06)
  • Paes and Bhupathi are the only pair to win the Doubles title three consecutive times. (1997-99)
  • Bautista-Agut was World no. 65 when started 2014. He was unseeded when he reached the final here in 2013. He will be World no. 15 in the 2015 edition. He defeated his first top-5 player Del Potro in the second round of the 2014 Aussie Open.

оформить кредитную карту в москвеоставить заявку на кредитную карту в приватбанке

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

8 + = nine

More in Other Sports

  • Preview: French Open 2017

    ATP Men’s Tour Men’s tennis has never been more competitive. The first five months of the year has been a bolt...

    Rahul DesaiMay 24, 2017
  • The King of Clay: In Numbers

    Contrary to popular opinion, Rafael Nadal, the current World No. 7, has enjoyed a stellar start to 2017. He may have...

    Rahul DesaiApril 20, 2017
  • The F1 Rivalry We Deserve

    Formula One needs this rivalry. It’s not because they’re exceptionally friendly with each other. God knows this good spirit and fist...

    Rahul DesaiApril 19, 2017
  • The Sweet Smell of Sergio Garcia

    Professional sport is full of fairytale endings. On Sunday, though, at the famous Augusta National for Golf’s most prestigious major event,...

    Rahul DesaiApril 10, 2017
  • 5 Reasons the Federer-Nadal Rivalry has Turned

    On Sunday at the second ATP Masters 1000 event of the year in Miami, Roger Federer wrote another time-defying chapter in...

    Rahul DesaiApril 3, 2017
  • The Many Resurgences of Roger Federer

    Roger Federer has spent more than half his life as a professional tennis player on the ATP tour. In August this...

    Rahul DesaiMarch 23, 2017
  • The Sports Week That Was and Will Be

    While a bunch of Oscar-nominated contenders make their way into Indian screens on the eve of the 89th Academy Awards –...

    Rahul DesaiFebruary 24, 2017
  • Neymar – The Modern Pele?

    Neymar da Silva Santos Junior, simply known as Neymar, has taken the football world by storm ever since he made his...

    Dharm PatelFebruary 5, 2017
  • Cristiano Ronaldo – Truly the Greatest

    Cristiano Ronaldo is a name everyone is aware of, whether they follow football or not. He just cannot be ignored, the superstar...

    Dharm PatelFebruary 5, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup