Aircel Chennai Open 2015

As early bird tickets go on sale on Friday, with 40 days to go for South Asia’s only ATP tennis tournament, the 2015 Chennai Open will mark 20 years of top-tier tennis in India. It will be a special edition, celebrating history, tennis enthusiasts and young fans, along with the launch of a new logo.

Back in 1996, Swedish star Thomas Enqvist and Mark Petchey played the first game of this tournament’s history, when it was known as the India Open and held in April on the outdoor hard courts of Delhi. Enqvist went on to win the Open, and doubles legend Jonas Bjorkman won the Doubles event with Nicklas Kulti.

1997 onward, the event was shifted to Chennai, and continued to grow into the prestigious tournament it is today.

Traditionally, this is one of the first few ATP tournaments of the year (along with Brisbane, Dubai and Qatar), which attracts a group of players yearning to get a head start in the ATP race.

To be held from Jan 5-Jan 11 2015 at Chennai’s SDAT stadium, this ATP250 tournament will continue to host a formidable set of top-20 players, along with plenty of up-and-coming talents to give tennis fans plenty to cheer for. 

While there’s still a long wait ahead, with plenty of players yet to confirm their participation, let’s take a look down the history of the star-studded tournament:
  • Defending Champion Stanislas Wawrinka is a 2-time winner, and along with Moya (2 titles, 1 final) is the most successful Singles player in the history of the tournament. Since Chennai 2014, Wawrinka has gone on to capture his first Grand Slam title (Australian Open) and is now a reigning Davis Cup Champion and World no. 4. He has confirmed his participation for 2015—his seventh consecutive year in Chennai. 
  • Marin Cilic is another 2-time Chennai Champion. He is now the US Open Champion, making 2014 the first year since 2003 where two players won their first Grand Slam titles. 
  • Rafael Nadal, holder of 14 Slam titles, reached the 2008 final after defeating his idol Carlos Moya in a 3.5 hour semi-final match. Nadal was demolished in the final by Russian Youzhny.
  • Ex-winners include Aussie Pat Rafter, Byron Black, claycourt star Guillermo Canas, original Thai superstar Paradorn Srichaphan, Moya, Croatian Ljubicic, Xavier Malisse (Singles and Doubles in ’07), Milos Raonic and Janko Tipsarevic. 
  • Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes won the 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002 and 2011 Doubles titles. Paes went on to win the 2012 title with Tipsarevic.
  • The only Indian to reach the Singles final is Somdev Devvarman against Cilic in 2009. 
  • The Kingfisher Airlines Tennis Open was the only other tournament in India (Mumbai) from 2006-07, which the likes of Tursunov, Gasquet, Berdych, Del Potro, Hewitt and Moya frequented.


дам деньги в долг под расписку петрозаводсккредитные карты без справок и поручителей

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × 7 =

More in Other Sports

  • Numbers from the Nadal vs Müller Classic

    Yesterday was ‘Manic Monday’ – the traditional second Monday at Wimbledon. All of the ‘Big 4’ were to play their fourth...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 11, 2017
  • F1 2017: The Austrian Grand Prix

    In the ninth race of the 2017 F1 season, something interesting happened. Nothing really happened during the actual race – it...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 10, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    Joe Root showed his class. Virat Kohli broke another record. West Indies lost the series again. Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 7, 2017
  • Wimbledon 2017: The Best Statistics

    The All England Club is already busy hosting the most famous tennis tournament in the world. Most of the first-round matches...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 5, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    Tubelight has stuttered its way to becoming one of Salman Khan’s “weakest hits” in a decade. Meanwhile, the only Hollywood films...

    Rahul DesaiJune 30, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    With Salman Khan’s Tubelight releasing this weekend, it doesn’t actually matter what happens with the rest of the world. Sports will...

    Rahul DesaiJune 23, 2017
  • Wimbledon 2017 Men’s Tennis Preview

    In about a fortnight, the All England Lawn Tennis Club at London’s SW19 will host the most popular Grand Slam in...

    Rahul DesaiJune 22, 2017
  • The Rise of Srikanth Kidambi

    Back in 2014, 21-year-old Srikanth Kidambi bolted into the limelight by doing something that most of the Badminton world – and...

    Rahul DesaiJune 20, 2017
  • Rafael Nadal: Fifteen Grand Slams And Counting

    Four of the first five ATP Masters titles and the first two Grand Slams of the year have been won by...

    Rahul DesaiJune 13, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup