All You Need To Know About CRICKET KA MAHA SANGRAM – IPL Season 4

Your Guide

It’s that time of the year again when IPL fever reaches grips the nation. Ten teams, a hundred and sixty players and millions of fans wait with bated breath as IPL season 4 approaches. The anxious cricket addicts await 51 days of cricketing bonanza through 74 matches . Even as the ICC World Cup celebrations end, cricket fans are looking ahead at a long season of non-stop cricketing fun, thanks to IPL Season 4 that kicks off today.

If you belong to the cricket crazy gang, here is a quick FYI guide which spoon feeds you with every bit of information you would like to know about the forthcoming cricket war…


Champions Of The Past
Chennai Super Kings (2010), Deccan Chargers (2009) and Rajasthan Royals (2008).

Stay Glued to your TV
Matches will be telecast at 4 pm and 8 pm on Set Max

Pune And Kochi, It’s Time To Smile!
Two news franchises; Sahara Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala join the existing eight teams in the fourth season of the IPL.

The Revamped IPL Make-Up
There will be two groups of five teams each and they will play 70 league matches plus four play-off games. Each team will now play seven matches at home and seven away.

What goes down? Obviously The No. Of Matches
Compared to 94 matches played in the last three editions, this time there will be only 74 games over 51 days.

Where Will The Matches Be Played?
Matches will be played across 12 venues: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai; Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad; Nehru Stadium, Kochi; Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi; Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai; Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Navi Mumbai; Eden Gardens, Kolkata; Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur; M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore; Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh; Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore; Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala.

Captains Know It All
Royal Challengers (Daniel Vettori)
Kolkata Knight Riders (Gautam Gambhir)
Delhi Daredevils (Virender Sehwag)
Mumbai Indians (Sachin Tendulkar)
Deccan Chargers (Kumar Sangakkara)
Kings XI Punjab ( Adam Gilchrist)
Rajasthan Royals (Shane Warne)
Chennai Super Kings (M S Dhoni)
Kochi Tuskers (Mahela Jayawardene)
Pune Warriors (Yuvraj Singh)

Who’s The Costliest Of All?
Gautam Gambhir was purchased by Kolkata Knight Riders at the player auction for a whopping Rs 11.4 crore.

We Are Sorry For Our Bengal Tiger
One of India’s greatest captains, Sourav Ganguly, who captained KKR in three editions, will not be a part of the IPL Season 4 after he went unsold in the auction. There was a glimmer of hope when Kochi Tuskers showed interest in signing up Ganguly at his base price of $400,000, but other franchises objected to Kochi’s belated move.

Missing Heroes
Paul Collingwood, who was signed up by Rajasthan Royals, has been ruled out due to a knee injury. Australian seamer Ben Hilfenhaus, who was slated to play for Chennai, is also ruled out with injury. NZ’s Tim Southee will take his spot in the side. Sri Lanka’s Angela Matthews will miss out on playing for Sahara Pune Warriors due to a pulled muscle. Aussie stars Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Mitchell Johnson have pulled out despite the riches on offer. Pakistani cricketers were again ignored.

Players Retained
Only 12 players were retained by the five franchises for the fourth edition of the IPL. Champions Chennai Super Kings retained World Cup winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, local boy Murali Vijay and South African all-rounder Albie Morkel. Mumbai Indians, who finished runners-up, retained batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar, feisty off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard and Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga. Rajasthan Royals stuck to Shane Warne and Shane Watson while Virender Sehwag and Virat Kohli were retained by Delhi Daredevils and RCB respectively.

No Controversies Please
Twenty20 cricket competition that is the brainchild of the then BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi. He was the face of the tournament. His revolutionary decisions changed the way cricket was viewed. However, allegations of corruption and financial irregularities resulted in Modi’s removal as IPL commissioner’s post. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) appointed Chirayu Amin as the new IPL boss

получение займа webmoneyкредитные карты всех банков без справоквзять денег в долг в ярославлерасчетно кассовое обслуживание в банке

1 Comment

  1. Xandy

    June 21, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Wow! Great tihnikng! JK

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six + = 11

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

More in Cricket

  • India v/s England: T20 Report Card

    An Eoin Morgan led England T20 side – which had reached the final of the World T20 in India less than...

    Rahul DesaiFebruary 2, 2017
  • Top Six One-Hit Bowling Wonders

    Continuing with our cricketing one-hit wonders, after a list of five batsmen last week, we will now have a look at...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 24, 2017
  • India v/s England: ODI Report Card

    England won their first international game on their long, painful India tour at Eden Gardens – the venue of perhaps their...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 23, 2017
  • Top 5 One-Hit Wonder Batting Stars

    The craft of batting in cricket has arguably seen more evolution than any other area over the last decade. It becomes...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 18, 2017
  • Gujarat’s Ranji Trophy Fairytale

    A month ago, I stood in one of Ahmedabad’s famous optician stores. I observed the customers as I waited for a...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 17, 2017
  • Chinks in India’s ODI Armour

    India v/s England, ODI series Result: India win first game to lead 1-0 in 3-match series   It ended up becoming...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 16, 2017
  • Preview: India v/s England, ODI series

    India played only seven ODIs in 2016, and so ex-captain M.S. Dhoni (takes a while to get used to this term) always...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 11, 2017
  • Ranji Trophy: A Shaw-shot Superstar

    A precocious 13-year-old pint-sized boy holds a bat far too large for him. In fact, his helmet and pads make him...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 10, 2017
  • Redialling MS Dhoni, The Finisher

    In 2008, on the final day of the fourth and final Test match of the series between India and Australia in...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 5, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup