All You Need to Know About the Ongoing Rugby World Cup

The 2015 Rugby World Cup is underway in England, twelve years after England won their first and only World Cup in Australia.

This is the eighth Rugby World Cup, and will last for a total of six weeks till October 31st. 13 Stadiums including Wembley, Manchester, Millennium (Cardiff), Olympic (London), Villa Park (Birmingham) and St. James Park (Newcastle) will host group and knockout games over this period. The final will be held at the Twickenham Stadium in London. Traditional favorites and defending champions New Zealand are once again at the top of the list, followed by Australia, South Africa, France and England. 

The World Cup has 20 participating nations, and the list is the same as the 2003 World Cup. Only Uruguay has replaced Russia from the 2011 World Cup. There are 5 groups of 4 teams each, with the top two of each group slated to proceed to the quarterfinals.
England has been the only team from the Northern Hemisphere to win the World Cup and break the stranglehold of Southern teams like New Zealand (2), Australia (2) and South Africa (2). 
New Zealand won the first ever World Cup in 1987. Australia won in 1991, South Africa in 1995 (on which the film Invictus was made), Australia again in 1999, England in 2003 (they defeated Australia with a famous Johnny Wilkinson kick), South Africa in 2007, and the All Blacks in 2011, where they defeated France narrowly in the final by 8-7. 
This World Cup has already seen a major upset, with Japan defeating South Africa in the group stages 34-32. A few days later, Scotland thumped Japan 45-10, which only proves that there are no early favorites yet, with every team trying to overcome the rust to make it to the last 8.
Argentina and Samoa are the dark horses in this tournament. 
France is the in-form team, and is favored to reach the final.
Likely quarterfinal scenarios read as: Group A winners Australia could face Group B runners-up South Africa. Group B winners Scotland could face Group A runners-up England. Group C winners New Zealand could face Group D runners-up Ireland, while Group D winners France could face Group C runners-up Argentina. This way, the top 4 ranked nations (NZ, SA, AUS, FRA) could avoid quarterfinal clashes. 
France has reached the final 3 times without a single win. This could just be their year.
Japan will host the next World Cup in 2019 – the first nation in Asia (or first nation outside the top 4) to host the tournament.
The All Blacks have won 76% of their Test Matches, and were the 2014 World Team Of The Year. They have held the no. 1 ranking since late 2009. Their 8-7 victory in the 2011 final was the narrowest victory in the lowest-scoring final in Cup history.
New Zealand World Cup winning Captain Richie McCaw is the most capped player in Rugby history, and is the only captain to lead his team more than 100 times onto the field. 


Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× seven = 56

More in Other Sports

  • Numbers from the Nadal vs Müller Classic

    Yesterday was ‘Manic Monday’ – the traditional second Monday at Wimbledon. All of the ‘Big 4’ were to play their fourth...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 11, 2017
  • F1 2017: The Austrian Grand Prix

    In the ninth race of the 2017 F1 season, something interesting happened. Nothing really happened during the actual race – it...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 10, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    Joe Root showed his class. Virat Kohli broke another record. West Indies lost the series again. Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 7, 2017
  • Wimbledon 2017: The Best Statistics

    The All England Club is already busy hosting the most famous tennis tournament in the world. Most of the first-round matches...

    Rahul DesaiJuly 5, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    Tubelight has stuttered its way to becoming one of Salman Khan’s “weakest hits” in a decade. Meanwhile, the only Hollywood films...

    Rahul DesaiJune 30, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    With Salman Khan’s Tubelight releasing this weekend, it doesn’t actually matter what happens with the rest of the world. Sports will...

    Rahul DesaiJune 23, 2017
  • Wimbledon 2017 Men’s Tennis Preview

    In about a fortnight, the All England Lawn Tennis Club at London’s SW19 will host the most popular Grand Slam in...

    Rahul DesaiJune 22, 2017
  • The Rise of Srikanth Kidambi

    Back in 2014, 21-year-old Srikanth Kidambi bolted into the limelight by doing something that most of the Badminton world – and...

    Rahul DesaiJune 20, 2017
  • Rafael Nadal: Fifteen Grand Slams And Counting

    Four of the first five ATP Masters titles and the first two Grand Slams of the year have been won by...

    Rahul DesaiJune 13, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup