The League – Edition 6: AN OVERVIEW

With the sixth edition of the league just four days away, it is time to begin this annual extravaganza with a post that explains everything (or most of everything). There have been plenty of changes, as well as injuries, accidents and pullouts- leaving the league licking its wounds already. This won’t affect the crowd turnout, but will definitely reduce the star quotient of the starriest T20 league in the world.

With the Sri Lankans banned to play in Tamil Nadu due to the typical absurd Indian tendencies of combining politics and sports (and hence, all of Chennai’s games at home), the equations seem to have changed a bit. That said, our thoughts remain with big man Jesse Ryder and his family- an immensely talented cricketer in a coma after an attack in Christchurch, just days before he was supposed to fly in to join his new team Delhi Daredevils.

Defending Champions: Kolkata Knight Riders (believe it)

Defending Wooden Spooners: Pune Warriors

Previous Champions: Rajasthan Royals (2008), Deccan Chargers (2009), Chennai SuperKings (2010), Chennai SuperKings (2011), Kolkata Knight Riders (2012)

Most consistent team over 2 years: Pune Warriors India (Second-last in 2011, Last in 2012) and Chennai SuperKings (Winners in 2011, Finalists in 2012)

Captains for 2013: Mahela Jayawardene (Delhi Daredevils), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Chennai SuperKings), Ricky Ponting (Mumbai Indians), Angela Mathews (Pune Warriors), Adam Gilchrist (Kings XI Punjab), Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders), Rahul Dravid (Rajasthan Royals), Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Kumar Sangakkara (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

High profile retirements: Kevin Pieterson (DD), Michael Clarke (PWI), Jesse Ryder (DD)

Key Players for each team

Sunrisers Hyderabad- Sangakkara, Dhawan (on current form), Duminy, Perera, Darren Sammy (X-Factor), Dale Steyn. Ishant Sharma is a spy used by Team India in order to deconstruct Steyn. Nothing more.

Royal Challengers- Kohli, Gayle, De Villiers, Dilshan, Pujara (yes), Murali Kartik, Muralitharan, Rampaul (It will be a wonder if they continue to fail to win the league)

Rajasthan Royals- Cooper, Dravid, Harmeet Singh, Menaria, Hodge, Watson, Badree (if used smartly)

Kolkata Knight Riders- Gambhir, Bisla, Abdulla, McCullum, Kallis, McLaren (X-factor), Narine, Pathan, Morgan, Pattinson, Shakib, Tiwary (and a few more. In fact, even SRK)

Kings XI Punjab- Mahmood (X Factor), Awana, David Hussey, Shaun Marsh

Mumbai Indians- Ponting, Franklin, Hughes, Malinga, Maxwell (X-factor…or so they wish), Munaf, Pollard, Smith, Rohit

Pune Warriors- Angelo, Bhuvaneshwar, Mendis, Nayar, Samuels (X-Factor), Ross Taylor, Yuvraj Singh, Luke Wright

Delhi Daredevils- Jayawardene, Chand, Botha, Morkel, Russell (X factor), Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Warner, Umesh

CSK- Dhoni, Raina, Faf, Ashwin, Bravo, Hussey, Jadeja (X Y Z factor), Albie, Vijay

документы для получения кредитной карты кукурузаполучить кредитную карту онлайн быстрооформить кредитную карту без справок по паспортуденьги в долг в чернигове

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ four = 9

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

More in Cricket

  • India v/s England: T20 Report Card

    An Eoin Morgan led England T20 side – which had reached the final of the World T20 in India less than...

    Rahul DesaiFebruary 2, 2017
  • Top Six One-Hit Bowling Wonders

    Continuing with our cricketing one-hit wonders, after a list of five batsmen last week, we will now have a look at...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 24, 2017
  • India v/s England: ODI Report Card

    England won their first international game on their long, painful India tour at Eden Gardens – the venue of perhaps their...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 23, 2017
  • Top 5 One-Hit Wonder Batting Stars

    The craft of batting in cricket has arguably seen more evolution than any other area over the last decade. It becomes...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 18, 2017
  • Gujarat’s Ranji Trophy Fairytale

    A month ago, I stood in one of Ahmedabad’s famous optician stores. I observed the customers as I waited for a...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 17, 2017
  • Chinks in India’s ODI Armour

    India v/s England, ODI series Result: India win first game to lead 1-0 in 3-match series   It ended up becoming...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 16, 2017
  • Preview: India v/s England, ODI series

    India played only seven ODIs in 2016, and so ex-captain M.S. Dhoni (takes a while to get used to this term) always...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 11, 2017
  • Ranji Trophy: A Shaw-shot Superstar

    A precocious 13-year-old pint-sized boy holds a bat far too large for him. In fact, his helmet and pads make him...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 10, 2017
  • Redialling MS Dhoni, The Finisher

    In 2008, on the final day of the fourth and final Test match of the series between India and Australia in...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 5, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup