Baahubali: Film Review – A game that only destiny can play

Indian cinema has not seen a movie like this ever before! Rajamouli’s wizardry wins again. Epic poet and ancient Greek author, Homer, is quoted as having once said, “No man or woman born, coward or brave, can shun his destiny,” and this unquestionable truth is what drives the glorious tale of Baahubali – The Beginning. You are unprepared for the scale of what the film has to offer, and the magic begins as the very first scene unfolds. Rajmāta Sivagami (Ramya Krishnan) is seen braving her way through a dark forest with only one goal in sight — to save the child she holds in her hands. She speaks in delirium — the future of the Kingdom of Mahishmati needs to live; this child needs to see a future.

There is no turning back from here. The film slowly builds pace introducing the protagonist of this two-part epic-film, Shivudu (Prabhas Raju Uppalapāti). Shivudu is a young prince saved from the floods of a waterfall. He is adopted by kind forest folk, who claim him as their own. Young Shivudu grows up to be known for his strength, courage and his inexplicable need to climb up the very same waterfall he came down from.
A wooden mask comes over the waterfall one day, and everything changes for Shivudu. The mask leads him to Avantika (Tamannaah Bhatia); to love, to a world beyond his wildest imagination; consummating finally in the grand city-kingdom of Mahishmati, where his celebrated destiny lies. This reviewer will not reveal the story any further, only because the intricacies of this mythical tale are best experienced in person.
 
Baahubali – The Beginning is unlike any Indian film you have seen before. The scale of the recreation of this forgotten time/era (though fictional) is almost life-like and you will find yourself being convinced of its reality on many occasions. The film’s narrative is clearly fictional, though allusions to Ballaladevā (Rana Daggubāti) and Bijjaladevā (Nasser): both actual kings from the Hoysala and Kalachuri dynasties – makes you believe an illusion of actual historic reference (at times).
 
The film is made beautifully, and while some of the songs are completely out of context; one has to credit SS Rajamouli (Director) for successfully converting the mythical epic genre into a more saleable mass appeal film. He’s come a long way from Maghadheera and the quality seen in his film-making is eons apart from his first epic.
 
This film only tells you half the tale and so while characters such as Devasenā (Anushka Shetty) and Katappa; the slave king (Sathyaraj), are introduced – their complete stories are yet to be fully revealed. That, however, does not leave the film incomplete. This part does end abruptly, but with a twist, that will surely leave you surprised.
 
Watch the movie for the amazing performances by Ramya Krishnan, Prabhas, Nasser and Sathyaraj and some equally amazing performances by Rana Daggubati and Tamannaah, in roles you’ve never seen them in before.
 
The battle sequences are particularly riveting as are the technicalities involving the fortifications and battle-plans around the city-kingdom of Mahishmati. This reviewer walked into the première show half asleep, and was woken up almost immediately after the film began – the film is that engrossing! The pace of the film quickens as the interval approaches and the post-interval-half is absolutely mind-blowing!
Baahubali – The Beginning might be marketed as a male-protagonist film; the first half however proves it is the women who drive this story. Be it the forest mother who decides to adopt Shivudu; or the warrior (Avantika) with a blood-thirst for avenging her queen; or the queen Devasenā herself: a symbol of patience, suffering and an epitome of the undying love of a mother – this film celebrates its women.
 
Most celebrated, however, is the Rajmāta Sivagami, a woman who seems to be defined by paradoxes. She is the fiercest warrior, the most-loving mother, a just ruler and a woman who values justice, truth and courage over her family and bloodline.
 
Why you should watch this film?
For the incomparable visuals; for the strong portrayal of women in several roles; for the chiselled Rana Daggubati and Prabhas who look good enough to eat; for the great battle scenes; for the captivating story line; and mostly for your own thorough entertainment. This movie is 100% paisa vasool.
By Romal Singh

23 Comments

  1. jalagandri

    July 10, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    superb …rating 5/5

  2. jawahar

    July 11, 2015 at 1:08 pm

    best movies of Indian film.

  3. Nagesh

    July 11, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    I’m not a regular watcher of movies, I watch only when my best friends suggest.
    This movie is an outstanding movie of the times. My entire family watched it today in Delhi, venturing out during heavy rain fall.
    Must watch, this movie takes Indian cinema to new level. In future this is going to be bentch mark movie for others.

    • Mahesh Harpanahalli

      July 22, 2015 at 3:28 pm

      Really Rajamouli Sir deserves this Success. You have said rightly Sir.

  4. Sachi

    July 12, 2015 at 1:37 am

    Bahubali – A Maha Mega mixture of a ps3 video game with karan arjun and prince of persia and avatar and god knows how many more inspired hollywood flicks all mixed into a cocktail of lavish wasted huge sets straight out of amar chitra katha comic turned into a mega headache epic of melodrama and excessive ear shattering band baaja drums blasting to create a mahabharat like war zone of bygone era somewhere in indian soil near a giant waterfall. If the impression was to create a magnus opus then it appears it did create for some 35 percent of the film…rest of the time..the story was basically clueless how to fit in along with dancing acrobatic songs. Rocks being torn literally into a sledge to avoid an avalanche and taking bull by its horns literally were seriously ridiculous work of a genius suffering from delusions of grandeur. Scary eyed mother of karan arjun aka bahu bali shouting about shassan will scare me in my dreams for a month atleast. Nice effort all in all to show me just the beginning and making me speculate how this mega conclusion will happen in 2016. Till then i will just have sleeping pills to cure my insomnia.

    • Arvind

      July 20, 2015 at 9:34 am

      I totally agree with you on the ps3 part….

  5. Sharan

    July 12, 2015 at 10:49 am

    Awesome movie nice

  6. sravan

    July 14, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    Wow Movie was amazing and sivagami character is awesome gud hard work ……congrats 2 whole team

  7. GooseBumps guaranted

    July 14, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    Wow Wow Wow…..Wat a movie ‪#‎Baahubali‬ is, absolutely never before..Salute to SS Rajamouli… took entirely to different world, it remind my childhood days when elders used to narrate stories of kings and kingdom…. & every seen is of Hollywood Standards,. The best movie I ever watched :)

    • Mahesh Harpanahalli

      July 22, 2015 at 3:27 pm

      Rightly said. I am very happy about your comment. I had the same feelings when I was watching the movie.

  8. sitaram

    July 15, 2015 at 9:27 pm

    all credit goes to jakkanna

  9. Kirti bhati

    July 16, 2015 at 12:34 pm

    One of the best cinema ever seen after lagan

  10. Kirti bhati

    July 16, 2015 at 12:37 pm

    Regally awaitng for the second part to release

  11. RAMESH BISI

    July 16, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    Very Nice Movie. Every body should see once If they get time.

  12. Kunal Nitnaware

    July 17, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    Baahubali movie is the super duper hit movie
    Iske samne to Bajrangi Bhaijaan movie floop hai

  13. Arvind

    July 20, 2015 at 9:33 am

    I feel cheated…. This was a over hyped movie that I had high expectations. I understand technically, commercially there have been a lot of efforts and even the actors do a good job. But the most important part of a movie … “Story” and the story telling ability. At the end of the movie you feel, “the movie is over??” It does not finish where the story started. Either the Director should have chosen to cover one generation,… the old or the new.. It leaves both the generations hanging at the end. It is like spending Rs., 1000 to watch an episode with family!!! Just like in the episodes .. the climax is to be continued next week (next part in this case) I have seen Gangs of Wassepur, SuperMan series, Spiderman Series, Hangover… and lots more. But never I have been so disappointed

    • Mahesh Harpanahalli

      July 22, 2015 at 3:34 pm

      Sir, Please forgive me, I am sorry to say that the movie has justified every scene. I do not know how your confusion started. The story is very clear. Definitely, the film makers have to create suspense, so as to ensure that we go to “Baahubali – The Conclusion”.

  14. Mahesh Harpanahalli

    July 22, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    I watched this movie with awe. I had never seen such wonderful scenes. I enjoyed the wonderful direction of S.S.Rajamouli (now S.S. stand for SUPER SUCCESS). It is not a movie, but an experience of wonderful things. No scene was wasted. Lot of Hard work has been put into it. The movie surpassed my imagination. Unwanted scenes are nowhere in the movie. Every minute has been utilized well. We never get bored. Visuals are simple fantastic. Dialogues, emotions, expressions are as required by the scenes. The actors have lived the scenes and the story. In another words, the actors have given life to the characters. Every character has been justified. Action is very very good. Thanks, Super Success Rajamouli Sir for giving us an international quality movie. If melodious songs were there like in Magadheera, Eega and Maryada Ramanna I would have enjoyed the songs also. However, the background music is very very good. We are very eagerly awaiting Baahubali – The Conclusion.

  15. poojaabhi

    July 31, 2015 at 5:43 pm

    perfect movie

  16. Saras

    August 3, 2015 at 1:40 pm

    Great Movie..

    Never Seen before like this movie…

    Wonderful and Enjoyable Movie.

  17. Pingback: Funny movie posters by Amul Butter ­ BookMyShow.

  18. Pingback: Mahesh Babu's movie Srimanthudu online tickets at BookMyShow.

  19. Chrish Tucker

    September 25, 2015 at 1:14 pm

    Bahubali is one of the best and high budget movie in Indian cinemas. I like this movie so much. Mind blowing performance from all stars. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


nine + 6 =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

More in Film Reviews

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved