Not only are the Filmfare Awards associated with oodles of glamor, they’re also known because they’ve been around more than most of us have been alive. These coveted awards have been recognizing and honoring artistic and technical excellence since 1954. The 64th Vimal Filmfare Awards 2019 will be held at on 23rd March at JioGarden, BKC Mumbai. Here are seven fascinating pieces of trivia around the trailblazing awards we bet you didn’t know.

#1 The first Filmfare Awards were held all the way back in 1954, while the first National Award for the Best Actor was awarded in 1967! The awards were actually called the Clares, after film critic and Times of India editor-in-chief Clare Mendonca. After running a poll among the Filmfare readers, the name was later changed to Filmfare Awards.

#2 Hollywood star Gregory Peck was supposed to attend as the guest of honor for the first ever Filmfare Award ceremony ever, which was held in Metro theatre. However, due to flight delay, he could only attend the after-party, which was held at Willingdon Sports Club.

#3 Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Black has won the highest number of Filmfare awards (11). Kamal Haasan has received the highest number of Filmfare awards for the Best Actor category (18) across five languages. Actresses Nutan and Kajol have won the highest number of Filmfare awards for the Best Actress category (5). Musicians AR Rahman and duo Shankar-Jaikishan tie the record with 9 Filmfare awards each. Director Bimal Roy’s record of 7 Filmfare awards for the Best Director category is unbeaten till date.

#4 For the first few years, there were no nominations. The Filmfare awards were simply bestowed upon the top five winners – Best Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, and Best Musician.

#5 The statuette is made of bronze and is surprisingly heavier than you’d expect – it weighs 5 kg.

#6 Nominees who rejected Filmfare awards:
Sonu Nigam for the song Sandese aate hain, in 1997
Prithviraj Kapoor for the Best Supporting Actor category for Mughal-E-Azam
Kumar Sanu 
Lata Mangeshkar in the year 1958
Vyjanthimala for the Best Supporting Actress category for Devdas
Reena Roy for the Best Supporting Actress category for Apnapan, in 1977

#7 The following mainstream actors have surprisingly never won the Best Actor/Best Actress Filmfare award – Dharmendra, Govinda, Akshay Kumar, Tabu, Salman Khan, Ajay Devgn.

Watch this spectacle live to watch the star-studded performances, the humorous banter between the awards, and to rub shoulders with your favorite celebs. Shah Rukh Khan is all set to host the Filmfare 2019 ceremony along with Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal. So you can expect plenty of clever quips and witty jokes, which is the second talent SRK is famous for.

The 64th Filmfare Awards are just days away, which means Bollywood is gearing up to put its best foot forward. Be a part of this vintage Bollywood tradition this weekend and make once-in-a-lifetime memories with your favorite stars. Book your spot, put on your glamorous shoes, and get ready to mingle with a bevy of A-list Bollywood celebs on the Filmfare red carpet this weekend.

All GIFs sourced from GIPHY.