ICC World Cup 2015

 ICC World Cup 2015

Australia and New Zealand

 The ICC ODI World Cup returns to arguably its most picturesque location- Australia and New Zealand- 23 years after a capacity crowd at the MCG watched 39 year old Imran Khan lift the crystal trophy in 1992.

The schedule was declared early on Tuesday in a star-studded event, when ex South African Wicketkeeper and ICC CEO Dave Richardson joined many other luminaries like Mike Hussey, Jayasuriya, Gilchrist, Kapil Dev and Lillee on stage to announce the format.

Once again, MCG will host the final- with the semis allotted to Sydney and Auckland. 49 ODI matches will be played across 14 cities in February and March ’15, with the format remaining the same as the 2011 World Cup. 14 teams have been divided into 2 groups. Four teams each out of the groups of 7 will advance to the quarterfinals. In most cases (except 2007), these will be the 8 test playing nations, unless Bangladesh or Ireland make great strides in the next 18 months.



The first match of the World Cup will be played between New Zealand and Sri Lanka on Valentines’ Day at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch. Australia will start their campaign against England on the same day at the MCG- a match that could set the tone for the Ashes rivals’ campaigns after back-to-back Ashes in 2013.

The mother of all world cup contests once again- India v/s Pakistan will take place the next day at the Adelaide Oval. Tickets for this 15th February game could be snapped up faster than an Afridi retirement. Pakistan is yet to beat India in any World Cup game, losing all 4 over the years.

What raised eyebrows was the division of teams into the two groups:

Exactly like CT 2013- with England, Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand being the major teams in Group A along with Bangladesh and 2 Qualifiers.

Group B will, again, consist of India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies. Zimbabwe, Ireland and another qualifier will round up the group. In short, the group stage will resemble the Champions Trophy Group stages- where India remained the only unbeaten team. Australia’s test summer has been cut short to only 4 tests against India to accommodate the ICC event, where India will begin as defending Champions.

The final will take place on March 29th, 2015- marking 40 years since the first ever World Cup took place in 1975.  

оформить кредитную карту онлайн сбербанк моментумоформить кредитную карту быстрооформить кредитную карту любого банкакредитная карта приватбанка универсальная условия проценты


  1. Muhammad Raihan

    October 17, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    My opinion is in favour of Great Australia my second favorite is Newzealand

  2. sanu

    November 20, 2014 at 4:44 pm

    india india india india india india india india india india india india india india india india

  3. yogesh

    November 21, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    I hope yuvraj & sehwag giving one chance in world cup 2015


      January 27, 2015 at 12:59 pm


  4. Dhilip kumar

    January 14, 2015 at 4:26 am

    India have win the worldcup

  5. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Captain Cool MS Dhoni ­ BookMyShow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 × = nine

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

More in Cricket

  • 5 Underrated Indian Test Opening Batsmen

    In the last 27 years, since 1990, the Indian Test cricket team has had 35 different openers – either long or...

    Rahul DesaiFebruary 21, 2017
  • India v/s England: T20 Report Card

    An Eoin Morgan led England T20 side – which had reached the final of the World T20 in India less than...

    Rahul DesaiFebruary 2, 2017
  • Top Six One-Hit Bowling Wonders

    Continuing with our cricketing one-hit wonders, after a list of five batsmen last week, we will now have a look at...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 24, 2017
  • India v/s England: ODI Report Card

    England won their first international game on their long, painful India tour at Eden Gardens – the venue of perhaps their...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 23, 2017
  • Top 5 One-Hit Wonder Batting Stars

    The craft of batting in cricket has arguably seen more evolution than any other area over the last decade. It becomes...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 18, 2017
  • Gujarat’s Ranji Trophy Fairytale

    A month ago, I stood in one of Ahmedabad’s famous optician stores. I observed the customers as I waited for a...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 17, 2017
  • Chinks in India’s ODI Armour

    India v/s England, ODI series Result: India win first game to lead 1-0 in 3-match series   It ended up becoming...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 16, 2017
  • Preview: India v/s England, ODI series

    India played only seven ODIs in 2016, and so ex-captain M.S. Dhoni (takes a while to get used to this term) always...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 11, 2017
  • Ranji Trophy: A Shaw-shot Superstar

    A precocious 13-year-old pint-sized boy holds a bat far too large for him. In fact, his helmet and pads make him...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 10, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup