India A will play Australia A in two four-day matches in Chennai. This coincides with India’s short limited-overs tour of Zimbabwe comprising 3 ODIs and 2 T20 games. 

As a result, a certain out-of-favour group of players are back in the spotlight, while a core chunk of the Indian ODI team: Dhoni, Raina, Kohli, Rohit, Yadav, Ashwin and Dhawan have asked for rest after back-to-back World Cup, IPL and Bangladesh tours. Ravindra Jadeja, meanwhile, has been dropped from the scheme of things. He doesn’t find a place in the Zimbabwe squad or the India A team; a swift fall from grace for India’s hero all-rounder not too long back. 

Ajinkya Rahane, who can’t find a place in the first-choice Indian ODI team, has been asked to lead the second-string Indian team touring Zimbabwe. 
While Rahane will be captain and open the batting, Murali Vijay will replace his test partner Shikhar Dhawan at the top of the order. Vijay wasn’t part of the World Cup squad. T20 stars like Ambati Rayadu, Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey are likely to form the middle order—with either Uthappa or Rayadu as the wicketkeeper. Uthappa is known to be an opener, but will his spot will depend on where Rahane wants to bat. Manoj Tiwary will also find a place after being unlucky due to illnesses and injuries over the years. Kedar Jadhav, due to his keeping abilities, also stands a chance in the middle order. 
It is India’s tired bowling line-up that has been shuffled in a more interesting manner. Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami aren’t playing, which paves the way for new star Sandeep Sharma and Mohit Sharma to lead the line-up with Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. Dhawal Kulkarni and Stuart Binny remain the medium pacers. And surprisingly, Harbhajan Singh has been included in the squad after last playing an ODI in 2011, almost four years ago. His impressive T20 season has given him back a test spot as well as an opportunity to prove himself in ODIs again. He will be joined by youngsters Axar Patel, who had a disappointing tour of Bangladesh, and Karn Sharma, who still finds favour over the older and more experienced Amit Mishra (who finds a place in the India A squad instead). 
ODI squad: Rahane ©, Rayadu, Vijay, Tiwary, Uthappa, Jadhav, Pandey, Axar, Harbhajan, Karn Sharma, Kulkarni, Binny, Bhuvi, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma.
The India A squad will be lead by test discard Cheteshwar Pujara, who has a point to prove. KL Rahul, Baba Aparajith and Abhinav Mukund are other test specialists in the team. Youngsters like Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Gopal and Naman Ojha will join veterans like Mishra, Abhimanyu Mithun, Umesh Yadav and Pragyan Ojha. 
India can’t play like they are assured winners any more in any format of the game. Zimbabwe was impressive in the World Cup, and despite the retirement of their captain Brendon Taylor, they still remain strong in their own conditions, especially against second-string sides. Rahane will look at this as an opportunity though—a test of his temperament, leadership skills and character, after a disappointing summer. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + = eight

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

More in Cricket

  • Top 5 One-Hit Wonder Batting Stars

    The craft of batting in cricket has arguably seen more evolution than any other area over the last decade. It becomes...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 18, 2017
  • Gujarat’s Ranji Trophy Fairytale

    A month ago, I stood in one of Ahmedabad’s famous optician stores. I observed the customers as I waited for a...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 17, 2017
  • Chinks in India’s ODI Armour

    India v/s England, ODI series Result: India win first game to lead 1-0 in 3-match series   It ended up becoming...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 16, 2017
  • Preview: India v/s England, ODI series

    India played only seven ODIs in 2016, and so ex-captain M.S. Dhoni (takes a while to get used to this term) always...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 11, 2017
  • Ranji Trophy: A Shaw-shot Superstar

    A precocious 13-year-old pint-sized boy holds a bat far too large for him. In fact, his helmet and pads make him...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 10, 2017
  • Redialling MS Dhoni, The Finisher

    In 2008, on the final day of the fourth and final Test match of the series between India and Australia in...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 5, 2017
  • Five Important Cricketing Events In 2017

    As of now, two depressingly one-sided tours are underway: Pakistan’s tour of Australia, and Sri Lanka’s tour of South Africa. Both...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 4, 2017
  • 2016: A Year in Test Cricket

    A few hours ago, Pakistan did a Pakistan, only days after almost chasing down the highest ever Test score against Australia....

    Rahul DesaiDecember 30, 2016
  • Karun Nair: The Everyday Hero

    5th test, India v/s England, Chennai From the top tier of the Northern Stand at the Wankhede stadium last week, in...

    Rahul DesaiDecember 20, 2016

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved