T20 Cricket League : The team of the tournament

Another year, another two-time Champion. KKR steamrolled everybody in an unprecedented 9-game winning streak to win their second T20 League, but that isn’t to say that CSK and KXIP were inferior teams.

Through the tournament, there were hits and misses, flops and valuable players. Here is my team of the T20 Leag, with the limit of 4 foreign players, in batting order:

  • Robin Uthappa (KKR)
    Orange cap winner and reborn as an opener, Uthappa was the prime reason behind KKR’s resurgence in the league in 2014. His keeping still leaves a lot to be desired, but he can walk into any team on strength of only his batting. His ten consecutive 40s was a record, until he failed in the final, where his teammates picked themselves up and won him a league trophy.
  • Manan Vohra (KXIP)
    He came in late to replace Pujara and a few others at the top, with KXIP inexplicably holding back the youngest player that they had retained till their 10th game. But when he did come in, he made an impact instantly and combined with Sehwag to make up for the late failures of Maxwell and Miller. The boy is as talented as ever, and could combine well with Sanju Samson for the Indian team in the near future.
  • David Warner (SH)
    Warner turned on the style after a lean first few games, making up for Finch’s loss of form, and carrying his weak batting order to a couple of inspirational victories. His fielding was an added bonus, though he will rue a few crucial dropped catches.
  • Glenn Maxwell (KXIP)
    The Big Show failed to fire in the second half of a prolific tournament, but still put his team on their path to their first final with a couple of truly phenomenal T20 batting performances. He will ache for consistency next year, but will be feared internationally the world over after this.
  • JP Duminy (DD)
    He was the only bright spot in another disastrous Delhi campaign. He batted and finished with aplomb and even bowled a full quota of 4 overs many times, proving his worth as a world class all rounder. Unfortunately, the Delhi management refused to promote him up the order and paid the price for this stupid error.
  • MS Dhoni (CSK)
    He went about his business unnoticed and won matches whenever he was needed to. Moreover, he led from the front and didn’t hesitate to criticize his players. Between him and Raina, CSK have the most valuable duo in league history.
  • Akshar Patel (KXIP)
    Easily the best spinner of the league, the youngster impressed everyone with his consistency and guile – carving out a place for himself in the Bangladesh tour coming next. Hopefully, he is the future that India so badly needs in the spin-bowling department. The only thing that can work against him is that Jadeja and him play the same role.
  • Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (SH)
    He rarely had an off game and made up for Steyn’s colossal failures. His swing was back and he became the bowler that hit the scene running two years ago. He bamboozled guys like Smith with his movement, and even bowled well in the death overs.
  • Sunil Narine (KKR)
    Once again, he proved to be KKR’s main weapon. Till the final, where Saha swatted him to all corners, nobody could read him. He is now a two-time league winner with the same team, and the most difficult bowler to read on the Eden Gardens pitch.
  • Mohit Sharma (CSK)
    Purple cap winner and perpetual wicket-taker, Mohit continued from where he left off last season. Looks like he will be a part of the permanent national setup under MS Dhoni.
  • Varun Aaron (RCB)
    For his sheer pace, despite his high economy rate, the boy deserves a place for fighting fire (his own failing batting lineup) with more fire. Sans injuries, his future looks bright.

Honorable mentions: Dwayne Smith (CSK), Ravindra Jadeja (CSK), Shakib Al Hasan (KKR), Suresh Raina (CSK) and Rohit Sharma (MI).

кредиты и кредитные картыотп банк тюмень кредитная карта

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− three = 3

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

More in Cricket

  • Top 5 One-Hit Wonder Batting Stars

    The craft of batting in cricket has arguably seen more evolution than any other area over the last decade. It becomes...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 18, 2017
  • Gujarat’s Ranji Trophy Fairytale

    A month ago, I stood in one of Ahmedabad’s famous optician stores. I observed the customers as I waited for a...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 17, 2017
  • Chinks in India’s ODI Armour

    India v/s England, ODI series Result: India win first game to lead 1-0 in 3-match series   It ended up becoming...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 16, 2017
  • Preview: India v/s England, ODI series

    India played only seven ODIs in 2016, and so ex-captain M.S. Dhoni (takes a while to get used to this term) always...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 11, 2017
  • Ranji Trophy: A Shaw-shot Superstar

    A precocious 13-year-old pint-sized boy holds a bat far too large for him. In fact, his helmet and pads make him...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 10, 2017
  • Redialling MS Dhoni, The Finisher

    In 2008, on the final day of the fourth and final Test match of the series between India and Australia in...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 5, 2017
  • Five Important Cricketing Events In 2017

    As of now, two depressingly one-sided tours are underway: Pakistan’s tour of Australia, and Sri Lanka’s tour of South Africa. Both...

    Rahul DesaiJanuary 4, 2017
  • 2016: A Year in Test Cricket

    A few hours ago, Pakistan did a Pakistan, only days after almost chasing down the highest ever Test score against Australia....

    Rahul DesaiDecember 30, 2016
  • Karun Nair: The Everyday Hero

    5th test, India v/s England, Chennai From the top tier of the Northern Stand at the Wankhede stadium last week, in...

    Rahul DesaiDecember 20, 2016

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved