Iron Man 3: Movie Review

Review: Watching a Superhero do his/her thing is fun, no doubt. But most of us forget how it is and what it feels like for the person behind the mask. This is what Shane Black (of the Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Lethal Weapon fame) has showcased in the third edition of this series.

The first two editions of the franchise had Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) going zip, zap, zoom in his supreme Iron Man armor. This film, however, shows a very different side of Tony Stark. Picking off right where The Avengers left off, Tony Stark is now a changed man. His impeccable tone of condescension and cockiness still remain, thankfully. Shane Black has injected new life into the Iron Man franchise with this movie. Along with the seriousness (that was very evident in the trailers) there is the usual brand of “Tony Stark” humor imbibed in the movie.

The plot is pretty straight-forward. Good guy Iron Man vs. Bad guy Mandarin. Tony Stark throws an open challenge to Mandarin and like the usual super-villain, Mandarin (Sir Ben Kingsley) wrecks havoc. The drill that follows is not the usual. Stark doesn’t just suit up and thrash the bad guy. In between all this there is the suave and brilliant yet unstable Aldrich Killian (Guy Pearce) and his pseudo-psycho-stupidity of being superhuman; James Rhodes (Don Cheadle) who plays War Machine/Iron Patriot and the beautiful & brilliant scientist Maya Hansen (Rebecca Hall). New complications are thrown in and this is what you should watch out for in the movie. The on screen chemistry between Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow) and Tony Stark is something that sparkles brilliantly.

The film is definitely entertaining but overall, the movie is slightly disappointing. There are moments in the movie when you feel like the characters are desperately trying to cling on to the storyline just to stand up to people’s expectations. There are times when the humor is dry and you will be left with a very faint smile. The film does have its “woo hoo” moments though. The film has some action sequences that are spectacular, a lot of witty dialogues and some of the scenes may just make you hoot like a little child. The brutal unsentimental reaction of Tony Stark to a kid who’s helping him out is something that will crack you up.

The movie will generate a lot of mixed opinions and responses. On one hand, hardcore Iron Man fanatics may not be really impressed by Black’s efforts to bring in the “human” aspect into the picture but there will be many who will be quite happy with the third rendition of Iron Man. The essence of Iron Man from a very action/comic book perspective seems to be lost hence it may not appeal to hardcore fans but will simultaneously do the needful for movie lovers in general.

On the acting front, Robert Downey Jr. is his usual brilliant self, Sir Ben Kingsley shall surprise you but the two actors who stood out were – Gwyneth Paltrow and Guy Pearce. Paltrow and Pearce play their roles with finesse. Paltrow, specially, was delightful to watch. (Hint – She suits up and no, this is not a spoiler). The background score was definitely not up to the mark. The glory of the scenes and the dialogues that made the movie what it is, thankfully, overshadows the misfires.

экспресс займы в екатеринбурге списоккредит на киви кошелек онлайн отзывыоформить кредит через интернеткредитная карта ренессанс отзывы

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*
Name:*
E-mail:*

47 Comments

  1. Raghav

    April 26, 2013 at 6:30 am

    Sir, is the movie even worth watching?

    • Vijay

      April 26, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      Its nice

  2. C.D.

    April 26, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    asssum movie guysss…….
    but y it is rated 2 1/2….
    it should b atleast 3 1/2

  3. krishan

    April 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    maybe they (indian critic) are paid by mahesh bhatt .Btw i have also watched iron man 3 and i like it very very much.It is great step towards avengers 2.

    • Amit

      April 28, 2013 at 12:39 am

      well said krishna.
      I can’t understand what these critics likes in movies like murder and jism series and why some low budget movies with great ideas are simply ignored.

      • krishan

        April 29, 2013 at 5:12 pm

        murder and jism series are copied from hollywood and maybe aashiqui 2 is also copied from hollywood.So i m 100% sure that they (indian critic) are paid by indian film industry.

  4. Sumit Raut

    April 26, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    Please stop wasting your energy in reviewing top grade movies with you c grade bollywood mentality. Its because of people like you why my fellow indians are loosing sanity

    • Vicky

      April 26, 2013 at 6:07 pm

      You are right Buddy .. I agree wit you.

  5. Shlok

    April 26, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    Awesome mvi,, really luv it…
    Tony stark rocks.

  6. krishan

    April 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Tony stark is resting now with pepper just like bruce wayne.They will both come back for aveners 2 and justice league.

    • Sumit Banerjee

      April 27, 2013 at 10:43 am

      Justice League? You kidding me bro? Get your facts right. JLA is a DC/WB property

      • krishan

        April 27, 2013 at 1:13 pm

        i mean tony stark will come back in avengers 2 and bruce wayne batman will come back in justice league.

  7. Vicky

    April 26, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    The Movie is too good.. Awesome!!

  8. rajesh

    April 26, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    What kind of critic you are ?

    please go here , the number one site for critic reviews and see for yourself , includes reviews from 100’s of critics .

  9. Vinay

    April 26, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Iron Man 3 is too good. I’m not sure where BMS is finding the lack of Killer Punch. A must watch movie guys.

  10. Muks

    April 26, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Pratyush,

    You obviously have no clue what super hero movies should be! 2.5 rating – I would rather read a reviews from someone who knows what an action movie should be – This review is very misleading.

    Thanks but no thanks

  11. newspikey

    April 26, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    this type of critics r mentally sick of watching n rating c grade bollywood movies. they dont deserve to rate this world class movies, better they should rate RGV films.

  12. Harsh

    April 27, 2013 at 12:56 am

    dunno why 2.5 has been rated out of 5 🙁 🙁 🙁
    Dis movie is bit innovative…

    • Sumit Raut

      May 2, 2013 at 11:46 am

      Its rated low because it has been rated by a low…. correction….unrated amateur BMS critic….who is too fond of RGV i presume…

  13. Soma Shekhar H

    April 27, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Awesome Movie.. Especially if your watching in 3D. I loved this movie than the first & second part.

    Super Screenplay & Conclusion.

    Over Movie rating 4/5…

  14. SASIKANTH

    April 27, 2013 at 10:27 am

    The Critic is supposed to direct the audience not misguide them. This movie is one of best of Marvel’s.

    Rating : 4/5

    • Deepak

      April 27, 2013 at 2:26 pm

      i agree man, i think critic is giving comments without actually watching this movie….

  15. Milind

    April 27, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    aww come on…aashiqui 2 has a better rating than iron man 3?? i wish i could review the critics themselves…theyd be jobless!! xD
    besides, i read both reviews, the review of aashiqui 2 practically begs you to like the movie, while this one seems to grudgingly accept that the movie rocks…wassup with that critics??

  16. himanshu

    April 27, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    I’ve seen the movie & it’s simply brilliant
    Just go ahead and watch it folks
    U’re gonna love it
    😉

  17. Utkarsh Sharma

    April 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Please stop reviewing movies which are beyond the scope of your bollywood mentality. Pratyush Cavutur go review some C grade movies that you’ll like. You don’t deserve to review these movies. One of the greatest superhero movies

  18. Deepak

    April 27, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    whats wrong with u guys 2.5 only, i believe u should watch the movie again. i loved this movie!!

  19. Kush Varma

    April 27, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    This movie deserves atleast 3.5-4.
    Iron man 3 is far beyond ur expectation in positive way.. Expect as much as you can, still it will serve you in much bettr way. Superb movies.. Awesome effects.. And full on comedy.. Gr8 one..

  20. Arun chauhan

    April 27, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    Hey Comeon

    I guess by watching C Grade Bolywood Movies, you have lost your judgement capability or you are naturally incapable to review such world class cineams.
    I mean Ashiqui 2 has better rating than Iron Man 3. GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!

  21. Halim

    April 27, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    c’mon man give at least 3.5, BMS must be kidding, this movie is definitely a winner. How can one trust this rating when u rate dabangg as 3, I would digest iron man as 2.5 only if u would have rated dabangg as -3 (minus 3 on 5) 🙂

  22. debanjana raha

    April 27, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    the movie is simply awesome atlest in australia it received 8.7 ratings no wonder y in india it received 3.5

  23. Jay Parekh

    April 27, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    I made a point to go in for the First Day, First Show of this epic release here in India.

  24. iron man

    April 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    wht is this mr.critic.,.,.,iron man 3 is simply awesome..n it deservs 4/5..,leave it guyz…they rated RA 1 betr thn iron man…

  25. ROCHAK

    April 27, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Sallo Bollywood walo change your thinking.and expand your platform for sci-fi movie.

  26. hardik

    April 27, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    AWESOME MOVIE ☆☆☆☆☆

  27. sweet

    April 27, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    critic mere bhai u certainly dont know about comic or cartoon background of this movie…director and rdj done great job…your raiting is laughable…

  28. Himadri

    April 28, 2013 at 11:25 am

    Going thru the comments.. ppl have explicitly bashed the reviewer. I believe you ppl entered the movie theater with the mindset that this movie just cannot be average coz it has Iron Man.

    See it again.. it has flaws.. it doesn’t match up to the hype it created in tailors.. yes it has (little) humor.. it has Tony.. it has Iron Man.. but more of Tony in distress and less of Iron Man.. n m nt talking bout building up on Tony’s character.. for eg. remind me if he ever found out a solution to his anxiety attacks..he cured pepper of the serum effects that took more than 13yrs to develop just like that..

    Even if we leave out all this.. the most important thing in the movie.. the villain.. The Mandrin.. what a waste.. please read a lil who was Mandrin actually n u will come to know what this movie has wasted.. n it beats me why Sir Ben Kingsley agreed to play this Mandrin..And Killian.. a super villain.. give me a break (again read about this character).. this movie completely breaks away from the original story which I thought was not the case after watching the trailers.. n thats where I got highly disappointed from this movie..

    The reviewer has said it right

    “it may not appeal to hardcore fans but will simultaneously do the needful for movie lovers in general”

    You guys out their believe you are a hardcore fan.. you must have done a background check.. after all it is a superhero movie.. n if u did.. there is no way tht u wud like this one..

    The Trilogy has come to a disappointing end..

    • krishan

      April 29, 2013 at 5:06 pm

      what u want from ben kingsley?To dance with tony stark?He does’t have physique and that 10 rings concept of mandarin would have made this movie a fantasy movie.So to make ironman scifi trilogy they did very good with mandarin.

      • Himadri

        April 29, 2013 at 10:06 pm

        okkk.. Sir Ben Kingsley was never a compulsion first of all…

        secondly.. all iron man movies are sci-fi.. they are not real life stories..

        thirdly.. santa claus is also not real!!

        • krishan

          April 30, 2013 at 1:15 pm

          Do u know the difference between fantasy and scifi?Scifi means that science which can be real in future.And fantasy means 0% real.Btw do u read news?2 years ago there was news in newspaper and in internet that american goverment is making suits with abilities of iron man suit for soldiers.But those suits different from ironman suit lookwise.

  29. Himanshu

    April 28, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    nyc movie, it will be. but just 2.5 on 5 – rating is nt gud. the ones who voted are wrong…. Sould get atleast 4

  30. Nina

    April 29, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Really a 2.5 …u critics will say any thing man…Next we will here that Tony Stark breathed wrongly…jesus.

    IRON MAN 3 simply rocked…what is the problem is that people loved Tony more in the suit rather than the man behind it..cmon he can change, he can have anxiety attacks or more he can be worried for the his LOVE , and mostly he can fall in love.

    this movie is every way a grand Finale of the Iron Man franchise. and it should get a rating of 3.5 to 4.5 atleast.

    And quoting this comment above “wht is this mr.critic.,.,.,iron man 3 is simply awesome..n it deservs 4/5..,leave it guyz…they rated RA 1 betr thn iron man…”

    i truly agree with it as these critic doesn’t even have the eyes to see it…next thing we should ask Robert Downey jr to dance Chammok Challo to get ratings high…

    man what a waste of time reading this

    but if anyone read my comment
    Please go n watch IM3 and u wont be disappointed , it is every way an Awesome movie. Shane Black did a very good job with his trade mark styling.

  31. krishan

    April 29, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    what u want from ben kingsley?To dance with tony stark?They did good with mandarin otherwise this movie have been a sci fi fantasy movie.That 10 rings concept is totally fantasy.So to make iron man scifi trilogy they did very good with mandarin.

  32. Avi

    April 29, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    Be it 2.5 rating for IM3, I will still not watch Ashiqui2 but IM3. Sorry Mahesh B., your bribe to BMS reviewer is waste.

  33. Amyira

    April 30, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    Who is this stupid fellow, really Ive watched Iron Man 3, its simply 5+ out of 5, this man is dumb, doesnt have taste of movies……

    P.S everyone just go for it, these Indian stupid journalists are paid by bollywood asses like Mahesh Bhatt, etc.

    Go for it Everyone, IRON MAN ROCKSSS!!!

    • krishan

      May 2, 2013 at 12:34 pm

      totally agree with u.

  34. Yugvir

    May 2, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    THanks Guys for reviews… User reviews are always true.. I gonna watch it. does not matter what these Tech guys has to say abot movie rating…

  35. Moksh

    May 5, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    awesome movie…the critic is mad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


five × = 40

More in Film Reviews

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
×
×
WordPress Popup