Now that Avengers: Endgame has finally become the highest-grossing movie of all time, Marvel has also announced its plans for the future. Marvel’s Phase 3 ended with Spider-Man: Far From Home, which released earlier this July and Phase 4 has been set in motion. Marvel president Kevin Feige took to the stage at San Diego Comic-Con to give the fans more details on what’s to come in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, both in the world of movies and television. Here are all the upcoming MCU movies and TV shows:


Black Widow

Release Date: 1st May, 2020
Scarlett Johansson gets her own MCU movie for the first time with Black Widow. The film will be a prequel focusing on her past. The supporting cast for the film has also been announced which includes Stranger Things star David Harbour and Oscar-winning actress Rachel Weisz. The villain for the film will be Taskmaster, who in the comics can copy any movement that he sees someone perform.


Release Date: 6th November, 2020
With one of the most anticipated casts among all the upcoming MCU movies, Eternals will be the second and last MCU film releasing next year. It will focus on a race of immortal beings who shaped Earth’s history and is set to star Angelina JolieSalma HayekRichard MaddenKumail NanjianiBrian Tyree HenryDong-seok MaLauren Ridloff, and Lia McHugh.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Release Date: 12th February, 2021
This film will introduce a new Marvel hero, Shang-Chi, who is a master of Kung Fu. He will be played by Simu Liu, who’s best known for starring in the TV series Kim’s Convenience. Hong Kong star Tony Leung will be playing the villain Mandarin (unrelated to the one in Iron Man 3) and Awkwafina will also be a part of the film.

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

Release Date: 7th May, 2021
Benedict Cumberbatch will return as Doctor Strange in this film, which is reportedly going to be quite scary. This film could also finally establish the multiverse and open up the possibilities of different universes. Wanda aka Scarlet Witch will also be appearing in the film.

Thor: Love and Thunder

Release Date: 5th November, 2021
Thor will become the first MCU hero to get a fourth film. Ragnarok director Taika Waititi will be returning to direct with Chris Hemsworth reprising his role as Thor, while Tessa Thompson will return as Valkyrie, and Natalie Portman will not only be returning as Jane Foster, but she’ll also become Mighty Thor.

Other Films:

While a release date wasn’t announced, it has been revealed that Mahershala Ali will be playing the vampire hunter Blade in a solo film. Among other upcoming MCU movies to be announced without any release dates were sequels of Black PantherCaptain Marvel, and Guardians of the Galaxy, along with a reboot of Fantastic Four.


The Falcon and the Winter Soldier

Release: Autumn 2020
At the end of Avengers: Endgame, we saw Steve Rogers hand over his Captain America shield to The Falcon. Now, Falcon will be teaming up with Bucky Barnes, who’s been known previously as the Winter Soldier. The villain is reportedly going to be Zuma played by Daniel Brühl once again, who we last saw in Captain America: Civil War.


Release: Spring 2021
One of the few superhero couples in the MCU, Wanda and Vision will be together for the show. Although Vision died in Avengers: Infinity War and wasn’t shown to be resurrected in Endgame, the show still takes place after the events of Endgame, which means he’ll be somehow be returning from the dead. There have been no other details revealed about the show apart from the fact that it’s going to be very weird. It will also tie into the Doctor Strange sequel.


Release: Spring 2021
Tom Hiddleston will be reprising his role as Loki for the Disney+ TV series. Although not much is known about the show, it is going to follow the Loki from the past who managed to successfully steal the Tesseract in Avengers: Endgame and lived in the alternate timeline. This Loki hasn’t been reformed as shown in Ragnarok, so he will be up to his usual antics as the God of Mischief.

What If…?

Release: Summer 2021
Although there have been animated series based on Marvel characters before, What If…? will be the first animated MCU series. The show will be narrated by The Watcher, an all-seeing alien voiced by Jeffrey Wright, who shows what could have happened to our favorite MCU characters. It has also been confirmed that the stars from the MCU films will be voicing their animated versions.


Release: Autumn 2021
Clint Barton survived Avengers: Endgame and this show will show him passing on the title of Hawkeye to a new character named Kate Bishop. In the comics, Kate is a young girl who is trained by Clint and becomes a Young Avenger and calls herself Hawkeye too. It was not revealed who will be playing this role.

Excited to hear about all the upcoming MCU movies? Don’t forget to check out our other lists of upcoming movies including horror, sequels and spin-offs, and films that will make you nostalgic.