Cast: Farhan Akhtar, Diana Penty, Gippy Grewal, Deepak Dobriyal, Chattopadhyay, Rajesh Sharma, Inaamulhaq, Ronit Roy, Uday Tikekar, Sukh Kunwar, Vineet Gill, Ravi Kishan, Manoj Tiwari.

Director: Ranjit Tiwari.

Writer: Ranjit Tiwari, Aseem Arora.

Producer: Monisha Advani, Nikkhil Advani, Ajit Andhare, Madhu Bhojwani.

Music: Arjuna Harjai, Rochak Kohli, Tanishk Bagchi.

Farhan Akhtar's next flick Lucknow Central is based on the story of the prisoners serving life imprisonment in the Lucknow Central Jail. The plot revolves around a Kishan Mohan Girhotra (played by Farhan Akhtar) who is an aspiring Bhojpuri singer but fate lands him up in Jail. There he starts a band in order to escape from the prison.

The idea of this film came to Ranjit Tiwari when he saw a newspaper article about five inmates who created a band to escape the prison. He discussed it with Nikkhil Advani and they decided to make the movie. The film was announced in May 2016 and the principal photography started in November 2016.

Farhan Akhtar who plays the lead took a month to get into the character. He plays a simple young man from Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh. To make this character look as relatable as possible his clothes were extremely simple, picked from flea markets and street stalls. So much that the entire wardrobe cost only around Rs 5000.

The Bareilly Ki Barfi actress Kriti Sanon was chosen to play the leading lady initially but due to the unavailability of dates, the role was then given to Diana Penty. The film also stars Gippy Grewal who made his Bollywood debut with Second Hand Husband opposite Tina Ahuja. Ravi Kishan and Manoj Tiwari have cameos in the movie, as seen in the trailer.

The movie has five songs and the soundtracks were released by T-Series on 18th August. The film is slated to release 15th September 2017.

Keep visiting this space to know more about the movie and to read our Lucknow Central review.