Zee Cine Awards - Winners

Bajirao Wins Big At The Zee Cine Awards

The Zee Cine Awards took place on February 20th and needless to say, it was a night of fun and glamour. Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Bajirao Mastani bagged several awards, including Best Actor, Best Director and Best Film. The film beat Salman Khan-starrers Bajrangi Bhaijaan and Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo. Overall, Bajirao Mastani grabbed 10 awards, followed by Piku with 5 and Masaan with 4. Bajrangi Bhaijaan was voted Best Film by viewers and Salman Khan won the Best Actor in the same category. Shahid Kapoor and Karan Johar were the hosts of the special night and kept the audience entertained till the very end. 

Shahid Kapoor and Karan Johar - BookMyShow

Here’s a list of all the winners from the Zee Cine Awards 2016.

Jury Awards – The Real Winners!
Best Film – Bajirao Mastani
Best Director – Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani
Best Actor (Female) – Deepika Padukone for Piku
Best Actor (Male) – Amitabh Bachchan for Piku & Ranveer Singh for Bajirao Mastani

Viewer’s Choice – Fan Favorites!
Song of The Year – Prem Ratan Dhan Payo
Best Film – Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Best Actor (Female) – Deepika Padukone for Bajirao Mastani
Best Actor (Male) – Salman Khan for Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Bollywood Newbies
Best Debutant Director – Neeraj Ghaywan for Masaan
Best Debutant (Female) – Bhumi Pednekar for Dum Laga Ke Haisha & Harshaali Malhotra for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Best Debutant (Male) – Vicky Kaushal for Masaan

Got your Back!
Best Actor in a Comic Role – Nawazuddin Siddiqui for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Best Actor in a Negative Role – Nawazuddin Siddiqui for Badlapur
Best Supporting Actor (Female) – Shweta Tripathi for Masaan
Best Supporting Actor (Male) – Sanjay Mishra for Masaan

Visual Treat!
Best Visual Effects – Prasad Sutar for Bajirao Mastani
Best Action – Shyam Kaushal for Bajirao Mastani
Best Choreography – Ganesh Acharya for Bajirao Mastani’s Malhari
Best Cinematography – Sudeep Chatterjee for Bajirao Mastani

Follow the Script!
Best Story – Juhi Chaturvedi for Piku
Best Dialogue – Juhi Chaturvedi for Piku
Best Screenplay – Juhi Chaturvedi for Piku
Best Lyrics – Varun Grover for Dum Laga Ke Haisha’s Moh Moh Ke Dhaagey

Sing to the Tunes!
Best Background Score – Sanchit Balhara for Bajirao Mastani
Best Music – Anu Malik for Dum Laga Ke Haisha
Best Playback Singer (Female) – Shreya Ghoshal for Bajirao Mastani’s Mohe Rang Do Lal
Best Playback Singer (Male) – Mohit Chauhaan for Tamasha’s Matargashti and Arijit Singh for Roy’s Sooraj Dooba

Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema – Ajay Devgn

Watch the Zee Cine Awards on TV on March 5, 2016.
Zee Cine Awards - BookMyShow

By Delnaz Divecha