Who Will Win At The South Filmfare Awards?

 Award ceremonies are a great way to see all your favorite stars under one roof. They are fun to watch and keep us guessing as to who’ll bag the award. One of the most prestigious award shows in India is the Filmfare Awards (South). This much-awaited award show aims to reward the artists and technicians of the South Indian film industries. Artists from Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam film industries are  presented with honors. The nomination list for the 63rd Filmfare Awards (South) was announced recently, and had us placing our bets on the artists who would take home the trophy. Take a look at our predictions for this year’s Filmfare Awards (South) for Kollywood.


36 Vayadhinile
Kaaka Muttai
Ok Kanmani
Thani Oruvan

Who Should Win: Kaaka Muttai
Who Will Win: Thani Oruvan

After bagging awards at several other award shows and winning appreciation from critics and audience alike, Thani Oruvan is indisputably going to be the winner in this category. Thani Oruvan was a gripping thriller that was easily one of the best films of the year. The engaging cat-and-mouse chase sequence between Siddharth Abhimanyu and Mithran had us at the edge of our seats. In terms of rock-solid entertainment, I also worked well. It was Beauty and The Beast meets commercial Tamil cinema, which was what made it a fun watch. National Award-winning film Kaaka Muttai was a layered film which focused on poverty, globalization and how the media works. A film that put a smile on our face. It would be great to have that acknowledged with an award.


Mohan Raja – Thani Oruvan
Jeethu Joseph – Papanasam
Mani Ratnam – Ok Kanmani
Manikandan – Kaaka Muttai
Rosshan Andrrews – 36 Vayadhinile
Shankar – I

Who Should Win: Mani Ratnam
Who Will Win: Mohan Raja
Interestingly, Mohan Raja, who was earlier known as Remake Raja (after making seven hit remakes), finally proved his mettle by delivering his most original film till date. The direction was taut and the story-telling was crisp. Mani Ratnam‘s beautiful and subtle treatment of live-in relationships and modern day love won many hearts, however, it didn’t quite strike a chord with many people.

Ajith Kumar – Yennai Arindhal
Dhanush – Anegan
Jayam Ravi – Thani Oruvan
Kamal Haasan – Papanasam
Vikram – I
Who Should Win: Vikram 
Who Will Win: Jayam Ravi

If you’re a fan of Tamil films, then you would’ve surely heard about Vikram’s dedication to undergo a physical transformation for a role in a film. In I, Vikram lost about 35 kgs to appear as a man suffering from a disease, and gained extreme muscle weight and developed a chiseled body for his look as a bodybuilder. The actor went on to shine in the film, and this won him a lot of praise. However, going by the awards won by Jayam Ravi for his role in Thani Oruvan, it is safe to say that he is also a strong contender for this award.

Aishwarya Rajesh – Kakka Muttai
Gautami – Papanasam
Jyothika – 36 Vayadhinile
Nayanthara – Naanum Rowdy Dhaan
Nithya Menen – Ok Kanmani
Who Should Win: Jyothika
Who Will win: Nayanthara

Nayanthara is currently regarded as the numero uno actress in Tamil cinema. Last year, she appeared in a handful of films that got her appreciation. One film of hers which released last year was Naanum Rowdy Dhaan. Nayanthara played the role of Kadhambari, a young girl who struggles to find the man who broke her family apart. What made her performance special was that she dubbed for herself in the film. However, we do feel that she should’ve been nominated for her performance in Maya, in which she delivered a subtle yet impressive performance. Jyothika was welcomed with a positive response from the audience for her role in her comeback film, 36 Vayadhinile. Her performance made us realize how much we missed the actress in the last few years.  

Arun Vijay – Yennai Arindhal
Arvind Swami – Thani Oruvan
Parthiepan – Naanum Rowdy Dhaan
Prakash Raj – Ok Kanmani
K. S. Ravikumar – Thanga Magan
Who Should Win: Prakash Raj | Arvind Swami
Who Will Win:  Arvind Swami

Siddharth Abhimanyu a.k.a Arvind Swami is the most stylish, smart and menacing villain Tamil cinema has seen in recent times. His charm, wit and confidence as the greedy scientist, had the audience almost caring for the antagonist. He could’ve also been nominated in the Best Actor category, and we would still place our bets on him. After playing the baddie several times, Prakash Raj donned the role of an ‘actor’ in Ok Kanmani, in which he played the role of a supportive husband. A refreshing change from the roles we’ve seen him play recently. 

Asha Sarath – Papanasam
Devadharsini – 36 Vayadhinile
Leela Samson – Ok Kanmani
Parvathy Nair – Yennai Arindhal
Raadhika Sarathkumar – Thangamagan
Who Should Win: Leela Samson | Asha Sarath
Who Will Win: Raadhika Sarathkumar

Raadhika Sarathkumar is a pro when it comes to playing the role of a mother in films. In Thanga Magan, she played a mother to Dhanush, and did it effortlessly well. However, she should’ve been nominated for her performance in Naanum Rowdy Dhaan instead of this one. Her performance as a caring and over-protective mother in Naanum Rowdy Dhaan, is our favorite. Leela Samson’s portrayal as a woman suffering from Alzheimer’s disease is what you call a moving act. She spoke with her eyes, and conveyed a sense of vulnerability through her body language, making you teary-eyed. Asha Sarath‘s portrayal of a strict police officer made the thrilling story of Papanasam look believable. We loved her performance as well.


Anirudh Ravichander – Maari
Anirudh Ravichander – Naanum Rowdy Dhaan
A. R. Rahman – I
A. R. Rahman – Ok Kanmani
Harris Jayaraj – Yennai Arindhal
Who Should Win: A. R. Rahman
Who Will Win: Anirudh Ravichander

Anirudh Ravichander’s music in Naanum Rowdy Dhan and Maari worked well for the respective films. They were instantly catchy tunes with foot-tapping music.  Although Maari didn’t receive favourable response from the audience, the music certainly did. A. R. Rahman’s gave two impressive albums in the past year, and both were a striking contrast. While Ok Kanmani had several melodious numbers, I matched perfectly with the story. Both his albums served as proof as to why he is called the ‘Mozart of Madras’.

Who will win this year’s Filmfare? Who is your pick? Let us know in the comments below!

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Filmy Keeda

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2018 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup