The Cricket World Cup in England and Wales is a week away. England enter as the hosts and the no. 1 ranked ODI team in the world – the favorites, followed by Australia and India.

The 11th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup was held in Australia and New Zealand in 2015. India were defending champions, and this was their first World Cup without Sachin Tendulkar since 1987. Australia won the World Cup for a record fifth time, while New Zealand reached their first-ever final. 14 teams (as compared to 10 this time) competed for the title, and over 49 matches, associates like Ireland, Zimbabwe, UAE, Scotland, and Afghanistan showed a good account of themselves. This time, it’s only Afghanistan in the mix.

View this post on Instagram

Happy birthday to two-time World Cup winner, @michaelclarkeofficial! 🙌

A post shared by Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) on

Let’s take a look at some of the memorable moments and numbers of the 2015 Cricket World Cup:

– 2015 was the second World Cup in which the co-hosts faced each other in the final. In 2011 when India co-hosted with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, India faced Sri Lanka in the final.

– 2015 was the fourth consecutive World Cup in which Australia entered as the no. 1 ranked ODI team in the world. They also entered the 1996 World Cup as the top-ranked ODI team. In 1999, South Africa entered as the top-ranked team. In 2019, England enter as the top-ranked team.

– 2015 remains the only World Cup in which a double-century was scored. In fact, two batsmen did it: Chris Gayle and Martin Guptill.

– New Zealand won 8 matches in a row till the final. Australia lost to New Zealand narrowly in the group stages but won all their other games. India, for the first time in its World Cup history, won its first 7 matches before losing to Australia in the semifinal.

– 2015 marked the second time in which Bangladesh progressed beyond the group stages (after 2007).

– Associate nations won 5 matches in the 2015 World Cup. Ireland, in fact, defeated the West Indies, too. But West Indies defeated Pakistan and made it to the quarterfinals.

– The biggest on-field controversy of the World Cup happened in the quarterfinal between India and Bangladesh. Rubel Hossain’s full-toss to Rohit Sharma was called a waist-high no-ball, and Sharma went on to add 50 more runs to his score.

– Despite Sri Lanka’s disappointing performance, Kumara Sangakkara became the first-ever batsman to score four consecutive centuries in World Cup cricket. He ended 7 runs behind Guptill in the top-scorers list despite playing 2 games lesser.

– The two most exciting matches of the World Cup included New Zealand. First, the 1-wicket win against Australia in the group stages, and then the pulsating semifinal against South Africa, in which Grant Elliott slammed Dale Steyn for a six when 5 was needed off the last 2 balls.

– Australia became the 3rd co-host to win the World Cup after Sri Lanka (1996), India (2011).

View this post on Instagram

What was your favourite moment at #CWC15?

A post shared by Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) on

Wahab Riaz’s spell to Shane Watson in the quarterfinals was considered to be the most iconic phase of cricket in the 2015 World Cup. Watson survived, and Australia won.

– The India-Pakistan group game tickets were sold out within 12 minutes flat.

Steve Smith finished the World Cup with 5 consecutive half-centuries in a row.

While you wait to witness the ICC World Cup 2019explore the most exciting sports events near you here.