That’s it. The Indian Premier League is done. In two weeks, the biggest – and greatest – tournament in international cricket will begin in England and Wales. The 2019 Cricket World Cup will feature 10 teams: England, Australia, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, West Indies and Afghanistan. The top 8-ranked teams qualified automatically, while West Indies and Afghanistan had to qualify through a separate ICC tournament. 48 matches will be played over 46 days, before the Final at Lords on July 14th.

View this post on Instagram

Anyone else’s calendar look like this? 👀

A post shared by Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) on

There will be a lot of predictions and analysis over the next two weeks, and in the six pulsating weeks of action after that. But let’s first have a starter-guide for World Cup Cricket. Let’s take a look at all the interesting facts and statistics in its 45-year-old history:

– 2019 will be the 12th ODI World Cup, since the first one in 1975. It will also be the 5th World Cup to be hosted by England, the home of cricket after 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

View this post on Instagram

Kapil Dev reunited with the World Cup he lifted in 1983! [📸 @homeofcricket]

A post shared by Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) on

– Australia are five-time World Cup winners. India and West Indies have won the World Cup twice. Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. England, New Zealand, South Africa and Bangladesh have never won the World Cup. Hosts England are three-time finalists.

– 2019 is the first time ever 10 teams will compete for the World Cup title. The last two editions have had 14 teams, while the maximum was 2007 with 16 (widely regarded as the worst World Cup). The first four World Cups had just 8 teams.

– This is the third World Cup (after 2011 and 1987) where no new cricket teams will be making their debut. Afghanistan made its debut in 2015.23

– 2019 will be the first time since 1992 where there will be no Quarterfinal or Super-six or Super-eight format. Each team will play 9 matches (every other team once), and the top 4 will make it to the semifinals. This will be the toughest World Cup since 1992.

– Australia has played the maximum World Cup matches. They have won 62 out of 84 World Cup games, with a stunning win percentage of 75. New Zealand has played 79 games, winning 48 of them. India is third, with 46 wins in 75 games.

– South Africa has reached 4 semifinals without making a final.

– The closest final was in 1987, where Australia defeated rivals England by 7 runs.

– Nobody has scored more than Sachin Tendulkar’s 2278 runs in World Cup history. Sachin has played a record 6 World Cups, equal with Javed Miandad. Nobody has picked more than Glenn McGrath’s 71 wickets. Incidentally, McGrath took Tendulkar’s wicket in the 2003 World Cup final.

– Australia won a hat-trick of World Cups between 1999 and 2007. They were finally beaten by India in the 2011 World Cup quarterfinal. They won 27 consecutive matches in this period.

– West Indies has not reached a World Cup semi-final since the 1996 Wills World Cup, where they lost to Australia by 5 runs.

– The most unlikely teams to ever win a World Cup tournament are India (1983) and Sri Lanka (1996). Sri Lanka were, however, one of the odds-on favourites coming into the tournament for their new brand of play. India was almost a minnow when they entered the 1983 World Cup. They had won only one match till then.

View this post on Instagram

🕰 A trip back in time at the @Beamish_Museum! #CWCTrophyTour

A post shared by Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) on

– Australia has won 4 of the last 5 World Cups.

– Since 1992, Martin Crowe (1992), Lance Klusener (1999) and Sachin Tendulkar (2003) are the only players to win the Man of the Series award despite coming from a team that didn’t win the World Cup. The last three: Mitchell Starc (2015), Yuvraj Singh (2011) and Glenn McGrath (2007) were World Cup winners.

– The highest individual score in World Cup history is by Martin Guptill (237) in 2015. Gayle was the other batsman to score a double century in the same tournament.

While we wait for the 2019 World Cup, check out some more exciting sports events.