India v/s New Zealand, 2017: ODI Series Preview

A week after Australia’s not-so-successful limited-overs tour of India (they lost the ODI series 4-1 and drew the T20 series 1-1), New Zealand, led by Kane Williamson, will look to conquer Indian shores in a quick series. New Zealand will face the hosts in 3 ODI matches and 3 T20s – between October 22nd and November 7th. India, led by Virat Kohli, have been on a roll in their home season, winning their 7th consecutive bilateral ODI series in a row last month – with Rohit Sharma top-scoring an India-Australia series for the third time in a row. 

The first India v/s New Zealand match will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The second and third ODIs will be played in Pune and Kanpur, before the T20s move on to Delhi, Rajkot and Thiruvanthapuram.

Here are some interesting tidbits about the low-key India-New Zealand rivalry:

  1. New Zealand has won only 2 of their last 10 completed ODI matches played in India. They lost the 2010-11 series 5-0, and lost 3-2 in 2016.
  2. New Zealand has NEVER played India at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. This will be their first match against the hosts here. They have played only ONE match ever at this stadium – against Canada in the 2011 World Cup, which they won by 97 runs.
  3. India and New Zealand have played 98 ODIs against each other. India has won 49 matches, while New Zealand has won 43. India has played more than 100 ODIs against Sri Lanka (a world record 155), Australia (128), Pakistan (129) and West Indies (121).
  4. The last ODI match that India played at the Wankhede was against South Africa in 2015, where they lost the decider by a mammoth 214 runs after centuries from Quinton De Kock, Faf du Plessis and AB de Villiers.
  5. The two teams have played 12 bilateral ODI series against each other. India has won 6 of them, while New Zealand has won 4. The other two were shared. New Zealand has NEVER won an ODI series in India. They’ve lost 3-2 in 1995, 1999 and 2016.
  6. The highest current scorer between the two teams is Virat Kohli with 891 runs and 3 centuries at an average of 69. Rohit Sharma averages only 30 in 15 matches against New Zealand.
  7. Virender Sehwag has 6 ODI centuries against New Zealand: the maximum by any batsman in both teams. Sachin Tendulkar and Nathan Astle had five each.
  8. Virat Kohli was the top scorer in last year’s 3-2 win against New Zealand – with 358 runs in 5 matches. But the record is held by captain Kane Williamson, who scored 361 runs the last time India toured New Zealand to lose 4-1 in 2014. He had five fifties in a row.
  9. Javagal Srinath is the only bowler to have taken more than 50 wickets in ODI cricket against New Zealand (51). Amongst the current crop, Tim Southee has 20 wickets.
  10. India’s win by 190 runs last year against New Zealand in the Visakhapatnam ODI is the second highest ever between both teams in terms of a winning margin.