It's Football time! Our domestic football league, the I-League, has kicked off last week, and football enthusiasts from all over the country have geared up for some quality Football action. The league, which debuted in 2013, represents all the major regions of country, Mumbai FC, DSK Shivajians, Churchill Brothers, Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Aizwal FC, Shillong Lajong, Bengaluru FC, Chennai City FC and debutants Minerva Punjab, the only team from up North. Last season's defending champions, Bengaluru FC, are the hot favorites, but all the other teams are also up to give a tough competition. Interestingly, Bengaluru FC have won the league twice before, just missed it only last season.

The league has already started and the action will just get intense with each match. In case, you missed the first week of the I-League, the inaugural match was played between Bengaluru FC and Shillong Lajong Football club, and as expected Bengaluru FC started their campaign on a winning note, continuing their amazing form of last season. They defeated the Shillong club by 3: 0. Same day the next encounter was between Kingfisher East Bengal and Aizawl FC, which concluded in a draw. Next up Mumbai FC outplayed DSK Shivajians Football Club in their encounter and Mohun Bagan won their first match against Churchill Brothers Sports Club. The match between Chennai City FC and Minerva Punjab FC on the second day of the league ended in draw, with both the teams failed to score any point.

As part of the format, the top two teams of I-League will qualify for Asian Football Confederation (AFC) cup and compete against the other teams of Asia. Albert Roca and Bengaluru FC became the first Indian club to reach the AFC Cup final. Led by Sunil Chhetri, Bengaluru FC is again up for a successful campaign in I-League and this time look forward to win the AFC cup too.

I-League tickets are already up for sale and seeing the interest and enthusiasm of fans for the Sport, the Football Match tickets for each and every counter will be going to be sold out soon. Grab yours, while they last and catch the action live from the stadium.

Written By: Mansi Gupta