It seems like only yesterday that Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli finished off Australia 2-1 in Bengaluru. That’s because it almost was yesterday. That’s modern cricket for you nowadays. Barely a week after playing a three-match ODI series at home, Team India is already in New Zealand in the midst of a heated five-match T20 series. This will be followed by three ODIs and finally a two-match Test series. This is India’s first overseas tour since India’s tour of West Indies back in August just after the World Cup in England. This is almost a year to India’s last visit of New Zealand on the back of their successful Australian tour, a quick five-match ODI series that India won 4-1.

India and New Zealand more often than not bring out the best in each other, with the small Kiwi nation having an edge in T20 cricket and India turning the tables in ODI cricket. But with India winning the first three games of the T20 series – and the series 3-0 with two games in hand – the tables are turning. Rohit Sharma’s phenomenal sixes in the super over caused Kiwi heartbreak again.

Here are some numbers to remember during the next few fortnights, as India battles to improve its overseas legacy.

8: India has played a bilateral ODI series in New Zealand eight times since the first one in 1975. Out of the eight, India has only won two of the series. The hosts have won four, and there have been two 2-2 draws. India last won in 2019 by 4-1 in New Zealand.

5: India has won five of the last six bilateral ODI series played between the two teams across both nations. Their only defeat came in a disastrous 2013-14 season, in which India were blanked 4-0 under MS Dhoni. The most infamous Indian defeat in New Zealand came on the eve of the 2003 World Cup, when Ganguly’s men lost 5-2.

65: Virat Kohli averages 65 against New Zealand (in 23 games) in ODI cricket. Rohit Sharma only averages 33.

5: India and New Zealand have played five T20 bilateral series against one another including this one. New Zealand has won three of them, India has won two.

India New Zealand T208: New Zealand had beaten India eight times in 12 T20s before this tour, while India had beaten New Zealand only thrice. The Kiwis had been dominant in T20 cricket, winning their first five consecutive T20s against India. After the first three games of the T20 series, India have now won six to New Zealand’s eight.

1: Only one batsman has scored a T20 century in matches between these two teams: Colin Munro. Virat Kohli averages 75 in Test cricket and 58 in ODI cricket in New Zealand.

11: Nobody has taken more than Ish Sodhi’s 11 wickets in T20 matches between these two teams.

9: India has played nine bilateral Test series in New Zealand over the years. Out of them, India has won only two, drawn two, while New Zealand has won five. The last test series India played in New Zealand was back in 2013-14, which India lost 1-0. India won 1-0 in 2008-09 and 3-1 in 1967-68.

5: India has won only five Test matches in New Zealand in nine Test tours. Overall, India has won 21 of 57 Test matches played against New Zealand, while the Kiwis have won only ten.

40: It has been forty months since these two teams played a Test match against one another. It was in Indore in 2016, which India won by 321 runs.

1: India is ranked first in Test cricket, second in ODI cricket and fifth in T20 cricket. New Zealand is ranked third in Test cricket, third in ODI cricket and sixth in T20 cricket.

For sports events, see here.