After a couple of weeks of speculation, Neve Campbell has agreed to return to the fifth instalment of the Scream franchise as Sidney Prescott. Also reprising their roles are David Arquette and Courtney Cox as Dewey Riley and Gale Weathers respectively.

Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett from the Radio Silence Productions, after speaking with the Radio Silence Trio will be directing the latest Scream instalment. Neve Campbell was impressed by their knowledge of the franchise and their respect for the late Wes Craven who had directed all the previous movies in the franchise. Their dedication helped her in making her decision to return for the next film.

Franchise creator Kevin Williamson and the third member of the film making group (the above mentioned) Radio Silence trio, Chad Villella, are executive producing with Vanderbilt from Project X Entertainment, Paul Neinstein and William Sherak also serving as producers. The script has been developed by James Vanderbilt and Guy Busick.

The franchise has also managed to nab a group of young stars for the project with two of them particularly standing out. Jack Quaid from the hit Amazon series The Boys and Dylan Minette from the Netflix drama 13 Reasons Why are the two aforementioned big recognizable faces in the project. They share the screen with other young actors Melissa Barrera, Jenna Ortega, Kyle Gallner, Jasmin Savoy Brown, Mason Gooding and Mikey Madison. The production will start shooting in Wilmington, North Carolina.

Spyglass and Paramount Pictures will release the film worldwide on January 14, 2022.