Vishwaroop: Movie Review

Review: They say any publicity is good publicity. Which is exactly why more than double the usual suspects showed up to watch Vishwaroop.  Sheer curiosity. I don’t know whose sentiments were hurt by the film. Why the ban and why the fuss? But cinematically speaking it this is a hell of a lot of money spent on a film that will entertain only a certain kind of audience. An audience that is used to sitting through long action thrillers where the hero is a Godly figure who can do anything. No prizes for guessing what kind of audience I am talking about.

With all due respect, Vishwaroop is a well made film. When it comes to production value, performances and action choreography. But the story itself is so farfetched and unbelievable it’s difficult to maintan your level of patience. To make things worse, it goes from bad to worse as each half hour passes by.

Kamal Hassan had the best of the best at his disposal. All the money in the world, the best technicians and post production crew, a stellar cast, including talent like himself. He is a brilliant director himself. Why in the world would he choose to write an espionage thriller that makes the protagonist look like a superhero. All that he needs is a tight fitting spandex body suit and a cape. Maybe a signature tune to match. Oops, he already has that, courtesy Shankar- Ehshan and Loy.

Having said that, the film does have some good moments, Kamal Hassan’s dainty dance guru act is hilarious to say the least. Plus it does have some great production on the Afghanistan action pieces as well as the ones in New York. Alas! What a waste of assets (money is not the only thing of value at stake here)! All said and done, this film is still going to do well. At least down south. It might be too long and slow and probably too hero centric for the north. But something tells me we have a hit on our hands.

Verdict: Will be appreciated for the action, performances and post production.

Movie Details
Director: Kamal Haasan
Genre: Action, Drama, Thriller
Run time: 2 hrs 29 mins
Writer: Kamal Haasan
Language: Hindi
Cast & Crew: Kamal Haasan, Pooja Kumar, Andrea Jeremiah, Rahul Bose

Book Tickets | See Trailer

условия оформления кредитной карты тинькоффвзять кредит на кредитную картуоформить кредитную карту тинькофф онлайн без справоккредитные карты оформить онлайн заявку в украине

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*
Name:*
E-mail:*

18 Comments

  1. Nina

    February 1, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    I really don’t care about the contravesy but the movie is a master piece at par with international films
    Mr Hassan was not there trying to steal the show but for a wonderful performance and story

  2. Poosa

    February 1, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Do you have a sub 90 IQ? Your review proves that.

    A movie that deserves atleast 3 stars from any critic. Stop looking at movies only from the commercial/masala angle.

    My personal rating:4/5

    • Gopi

      February 5, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      I do agree with you poosa my rating is same as urs its bad review and he/she is worst critic please do take off this review its not the real review please do not discriminate north or south its the kind request this rating is truely unfair and nor nuetral review

  3. Ashwin

    February 1, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    I really disagree. if the movie is packed with slick, sexy and glamorous you north guys give 4 stars. The world knows who produce better movie.

  4. A k reddy

    February 2, 2013 at 12:46 am

    I don’t see any reason why there should be controversy on the movie. It is a clean movie.

    my pesonal rating: 4/5

  5. Munna

    February 2, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    I totally disagree with the star rate. This movie has everything like fantastic location, superb acting, nice script, amazing camera work etc. What else do u require. I personally give 4 star rating for this movie. Even I did not feel, why there was a ban and huge fight for this movie where he has not at all showed any bad thing about muslim. Mr. Kamal Hasaan has spent crores of rupees to make this movie and also has lost crores of rupees due to ban.

  6. King Khan

    February 2, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    What kind of audience were you talking about? Why do you have to sit atop a self proclaimed value chain? Sure the film had its flaws where it slowed down considerably in second half. But the transformation sequence and afghanistan scenes were awesome. Compared to the Dabangs and Jab Tak hain jaan of our times ths film is wayyy better . Surely more than 2 stars.

    Like kamal said, he can make movies for the western world but he makes movies for an indian audience. Indian doesnt always just mean u and me. Hence I believe is the repetition of sequences so that everyone appreciates the story. Also , when the story has very little connection to India, it is important for the Indian actor to be present in all frames to get some connection to the audience. Anyhow , for once we atleast proved we can make combat sequences at par with Hollywood!

    You have to review films with a neutral perspective. Never, North and south. Sorry

  7. Joys

    February 2, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    I think ‘2 *s’ was too low a rating for a movie like viswaroopam. The first half o this movie is very good. Even though the second half doesnot have much story or action..However this moview is one of the best ‘made in india’ film. With Kamal at his acting best.

  8. Purshottam

    February 2, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    Are you serious?

    How do you rate? or do you get paid for some reviews?

    BMS has rated Race2 and AkaashVaani better than Vishwaroopam. Really?

    I think you need to take ratings seriously and do justice. Just spitting 200 words of something and giving random stars is not good enough.

    I understand that this is art and everyone may not have the same taste. But, if others are being influenced by what you are writing, you have a fiduciary responsibility.

    • Andy

      February 5, 2013 at 5:08 pm

      that’s exactly what I was thinking. . good one Purshottam

  9. kranthi

    February 3, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    See as you said the movie may be little bit slow in some areas.but we can’t expect an Item Song there if we go for reality.in this movie Mr.kamal hasan showed the real scenes only from a Secret agent life that what he can do.
    i don’t know how many stars you have given for the films Ek-Tha Tiger,Talaash & Jab tak hai jaan.But this Viswaroop at least Deserves 3 ratings.

  10. visakan

    February 4, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    what 2 stars???????????? do think david is better than this flim ??????? poor rating system worst ratting

  11. Gopi

    February 5, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Please do take this critics rating and review off from the web and please re do with best neutral person its not against this particular person any review should be on neutral basis

  12. raja

    February 6, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    madness ratings

  13. karthik

    February 6, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Malvika,

    I think you should be banned from reviewing/rating class movies. You are fit to review masala movies which has non-sense dialogues and needless songs.. shame on you for giving a 2 star for a classic..

  14. Ants

    February 8, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    What a review…! And no sense writing..Don’t under rate a movie made so good.

  15. Ramesh

    April 12, 2013 at 8:22 am

    Vishwaroop is one of the best Indian movie I watched in terms of many aspect though plot is run of the mill. I enjoyed Kamal’s first 15 mins transformation. It
    Ramesh

  16. Loanemu.com

    October 11, 2015 at 10:15 am

    I am very impressed by the level of knowledge expressed in this content. Your efforts are impressive and I respect all your hard work. Hopefully, you will continue to put out great work like this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


five − = 1

More in Bollywood Movies

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
×
×
WordPress Popup