The World Chess Championship 2013

The battle has already begun. World no. 8 and undisputed Chess World Champion Vishwanathan Anand is already two rounds into the competition with World no. 1 Norwegian Chess wonderkind Magnus Carlsen. 

There is a 21 year old age-gap between the two Champions, and 23 year old Carlsen begins as favorite for his first world title. 
Carlsen won the 2013 Candidates tournament earlier this year in London. He finished with 5 wins, 2 losses and 7 draws and won the tiebreak over Kramnik. 
Here are a few facts about the two competitors doing battle in Chennai till 28th November:
-Carlsen has won the Chess Oscars for 4 years in a row since 2008. He holds the world record for the highest-ever peak FIDE rating of 2872 (Feb 2013). He also won the world Blitz Championship in 2009.
-Anand has won the World Chess Championship 5 times, the latest a win in 2012 over Boris Gelfand. He has been the undisputed Chess Champion since 2007. (’07, ’08, ’10, ’12)
-Carlsen is the third youngest Grandmaster in chess history- at 13 years and 148 days (2004). He is the youngest to achieve the World no. 1 ranking (19 years and 32 days)
-Carlsen has a 3 win, 6 loss and 20 draw record against Anand, a record that is sure to get better as he progresses.
-Anand is one of the other 5 players to break the 2800 mark. Anand has been out of the top 5 for the first time since ’96, his limpest streak, after conceding the no. 1 ranking to Carlsen back in 2011.
-Carlsen dropped out controversially from the Candidates tournament back in 2010- after being coached/mentored by legend Kasparov for a year. He broke Kasparov’s record of 2851 this year.
-Carlsen is known for his endgame and aggressive midgame, not for his opening preparation- an aspect that almost cost him the first game against Anand (with blacks) of the competition. 
-Anand, in his whole career, has been ranked 1 only for 15 months. He wasn’t ranked 1 till he was 37.
-He has defeated Shirov, Topalov, Kramnik and Gelfand in Championship games since 2000.
-Anand has won the Chess Oscars 6 times- 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008. Carlsen has won it since 2008. 
-Carlsen shattered Kramnik’s record (age 25) of being the youngest ever player to break 2800 (18 years 336 days)

взять кредитную карту онлайн заявкаподать заявку на кредитную карту отп банкакак получить кредит в тинькофф банкеусловия кредитования малого бизнеса втб 24

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 − one =

More in Other Sports

  • The Week That Was

    With Salman Khan’s Tubelight releasing this weekend, it doesn’t actually matter what happens with the rest of the world. Sports will...

    Rahul DesaiJune 23, 2017
  • Wimbledon 2017 Men’s Tennis Preview

    In about a fortnight, the All England Lawn Tennis Club at London’s SW19 will host the most popular Grand Slam in...

    Rahul DesaiJune 22, 2017
  • The Rise of Srikanth Kidambi

    Back in 2014, 21-year-old Srikanth Kidambi bolted into the limelight by doing something that most of the Badminton world – and...

    Rahul DesaiJune 20, 2017
  • Rafael Nadal: Fifteen Grand Slams And Counting

    Four of the first five ATP Masters titles and the first two Grand Slams of the year have been won by...

    Rahul DesaiJune 13, 2017
  • Preview: French Open Men’s Quarterfinals

    On the second Tuesday of the French Open at Roland Garros in Paris, eight male tennis players remain out of the...

    Rahul DesaiJune 6, 2017
  • The Week That Was

    Brad Pitt crashed the Mumbai Premiere of his new Netflix film, War Machine. Salman Khan’s Tubelight trailer dropped a day later,...

    Rahul DesaiMay 26, 2017
  • Preview: French Open 2017

    ATP Men’s Tour Men’s tennis has never been more competitive. The first five months of the year has been a bolt...

    Rahul DesaiMay 24, 2017
  • The King of Clay: In Numbers

    Contrary to popular opinion, Rafael Nadal, the current World No. 7, has enjoyed a stellar start to 2017. He may have...

    Rahul DesaiApril 20, 2017
  • The F1 Rivalry We Deserve

    Formula One needs this rivalry. It’s not because they’re exceptionally friendly with each other. God knows this good spirit and fist...

    Rahul DesaiApril 19, 2017

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2016 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup