Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani: Film Review

Review: It is that moment when I’ve been over-exposed to awesomeness by the superb work exhibited by Ayan Mukherji yet again in Yeh Jawani Hai Deewani, almost 4 years after his debut film, Wake Up Sid released. There are absolutely no complications involved, just a simple love story that go through various phases simultaneously showing the challenges that the film’s protagonists face before finally ending up together. You may consider this a spoiler, trust me it isn’t. Just when you think ‘all’s well that ends well’, there’s something new that is brought about.

It may have been a herculean task to bring a former real-life couple, Ranbir Kapoor and Deepika Padukone to share screen space especially when everyone’s aware of the rife rumor mills and the usual talk of the town. However, the two came back to work together after Bachna Ae Haseeno (2008) purely in the name of friendship that they share with the film’s director. What you wouldn’t have expected however, was the professionalism with which the performances have been handled. Off the new-age couples, Ranbir-Deepika sure make a great onscreen couple, and from a totally unbiased perspective I state that the two should be cast together in more films, playing varied roles like Shahrukh Khan and Kajol, perhaps.

The film takes you on a world tour spread over a period of 10 years approximately, yet brings you back home in the end. Fortunately, it restores the warm, fuzzy feeling of love, of belonging, of bonds. The dialogues are sappy at places, nonetheless, great. Maybe the comparison between Mumbai and other parts of the world, which was beautiful the way it was executed, could’ve had a few more elements, in my opinion. Yes, it was a discussion between two people, hence it was more about a personal choice, however, they could’ve been shown from a broader perspective. Simultaneously, a destination wedding gave actors and the director to show a panoramic view of the wedding, the people, the functions and the destination overall. In one word, magnificent. The elements of the love story were quite obvious, you were only waiting for them to unfold in the total run time. You may feel that you’ve seen this all earlier, in films that came and went; yet it will keep you interested through it’s subtle lessons on the concept of Carpe Diem and Living your Dream. Why I say that your faith in love will be restored with this film is because it subtly tells you how when you love someone, the person shall come back to you despite the circumstances. Go watch the film because the feeling shall linger on for a long time, maybe even call for a re-run in your minds.

открытие расчетного счета для ооо ценыоставить заявку на кредитную картукредитные карты без справки доходахполучить кредитку без справки о доходах

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*
Name:*
E-mail:*

10 Comments

  1. krisham

    May 31, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    bakwaas love story dikh kar india ki janta ko kyon bigaad rahe ho tum log.

  2. Tom

    May 31, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    Exactly what i thought. very nice review.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Bhavin shah

    June 1, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Show was cancel 9.00 am morning city gold cinema Ahmedabad screen 1

  4. SR

    June 1, 2013 at 10:13 am

    Wake Up Sid was a coming of age film, where Ayan Mukherji had the courage to cast a non conventional heroine with the heart throb of the nation’s most beautiful women, showcase the difference in age and yet make it work for all. It was a classic example of ‘Old Wine in a new bottle’. While it was obvious from the trailers and the songs that Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani would be the usual ‘Boy Meets Girl’ tale I did expect the Ayan touch to shine through in this film as well. Unfortunately the look and feel is more KJo than Ayan. I love KJo and what he did with SRK and Kajol…but to continue doing so over a decade later….isnt it tiring? The protagonists live in ‘Land KJo’ where they look their best (perfectly styled hair at all times) dress their best (ahh!! to have Deepika’s wardrobe) dance their best, act their best… and so do the music director, the lyricist, the dialogue writer, the cinematographer, the costume designer… hell even the guy who shopped for locations did his best…Ranbir’s timing is immaculate and roles like this one are second nature to him, I dont think he even puts his mind into them anymore. Deepika has never looked this beautiful, trust me and neither has Kalki. In the few scenes she has Kalki proves why she is there…she is effortless and a pleasure to watch. Adiya RK is also believable and I am now wondering if I should have caught a showing of Aashiqui 2 as well. The cherry on the pudding was Kunal Roy Kapoor aping his Bhabi and beating her at her own game with his take on ‘OO LA LA’. The songs had my 2 year old on her feet throughout…And yet I am disappointed that throughout the narrative Ayan failed to show up. The hackneyed old plot of Boy-Meets-Girl, Boy-Does-Not-Care-For Girl, Girl-Cares-For-Boy-But-Cannot-Tell…You get the point…I mean pre intermission not caring enough and post intermission caring too much…its a been there done that formula with Hum Tum, Love Aaj Kal, I hate love story’s, Cocktail and lord know what other movie walking the beaten path before…how many more films can we have around basically the same premise?? And not withstanding good actors, how much can you tweak the formula???…Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani is sure to draw the crowds for all that is KJo…but Ayan next time around, some of us would like to see more of YOU!!

    • krisham

      June 4, 2013 at 1:10 pm

      i m Totally agree bro.

  5. SJ

    June 2, 2013 at 11:05 am

    This is a biased and most likely paid review. One of the worst in recent time. Don’t watch.

  6. nz

    June 2, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    started out to write my own opinion after reading the review, n then I saw the comment by SR .. it has everything I wanted to say.. totally agree.. I was disappointed with the movie as I have, not that I haven’t tried to avoid, seen this same movie a million times before in bollywood. I read a better more realistic review in the Indian express. but all the same, I hav a bunch of friends who loved the movie, so to everyone his/her opinion.

  7. BS

    June 3, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    I agree with SR-this is typically of K jo movie-movie of the rich, by the rich and for the rich. i think allthe makers casting Ranbir are purely banking on him and lucky that he along with AR/Pritam has turned some of mediocore movies blockbusters. A request to Karan-please give some space to your directors and let them shoot the movie they want to

  8. rash

    June 4, 2013 at 10:33 am

    the movie only hs good songs,grt locations bt no story.they hv only glorified Ranbir,Deepika is crying in almost every othr scene,Kalki is fresh and funny.they hv kinda mixed ddlj and dil toh paagal hain.and it’s a really long movie (2hr 45min)it hs a lot of useless and unnecessary scenes.music and Ranbir fans cn give it a one time watch.i’d give 2 and a half stars.

  9. Nitesh

    June 23, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    Awsome movie..really loved it..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


9 − three =

More in Bollywood Movies

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2017 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
×
×
WordPress Popup