Zero Dark Thirty: Movie Review

Review: A whole lot of places, a gazillion names (enough to compile a dictionary of names) and a movie that looked like it was desperately putting pieces of a puzzle together. A movie that struggled to find a balance between calling itself a documentary and a feature film.

Zero Dark Thirty is a movie based on the Osama Bin Laden hunt and is based on a first hand account of what happened post the 9/11 attacks. The first half of the movie functioned like a disgruntled vehicle. Even with a slow pace the events seemed hurried. Most of the first part didn’t really make too much sense. The whole idea of bringing multiple aspects back-fired and it did seem like a jimble-jamble. The second-half, however, was far better with a built up pace and far better acting;  audiences will definitely enjoy the latter half of the movie. And then in the last 30 minutes or so, logic is defied – in leaps and bounds.

First off, for a man who deceived the entire world and planned the worst terrorist attacks in history to be portrayed as a dumbnut in this flick (nowhere in the movie is he shown) is something to ponder upon. Secondly, Bin Laden in the movie seemed more like he was a 7-year old conquering his first Lego Death Star.

The two hours leading to that last scene (that we are all eagerly awaiting) is about CIA agent Maya (Jessica Chastain) and her obsession with catching Osama Bin Laden. Considering Zero Dark Thirty is an Oscar nominated movie, it is expected that it lives up to expectations. Frankly speaking, it does not. If this were a fictitious movie rather than a movie based on real events, it would have probably done better.

The acting wasn’t all that commendable and each of them played their part decently enough. A few parts of the movie were really well tailor-made. But the rest was just blah!

Verdict: Harry Potter was more believable than this one.

Movie Details
Release Date: Feb 15, 2013
Director: Kathryn Bigelow
Genre: Drama, History, Thriller
Run time: 2 hrs 35 mins
Writer: Mark Boal
Language: English
Cast & Crew: Jessica Chastain, Jason Clarke, Kyle Chandler, Jennifer Ehle, Joel Edgerton , Harold Perrineau and Chris Pratt

Book Tickets | See Trailer

приватбанк кредитка универсальная 55 днейвзять кредитную карту в приватбанкеприватбанк кредитная карта как пользоватьсякредитная карта россельхозбанка онлайн

Did you like this blog?*
How did you find this blog?*
What kind of articles would you like to read on the blog?*
Name:*
E-mail:*

8 Comments

  1. BMS loses credibility posting such a badly written review!

    February 15, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    This is SUCH a pathetic review I don’t know where to start! Hardly a single sentence makes sense. BMS just went down a notch in my view. If quality standards are this poor at BMS, I will think twice about relying on it for anything in the future.

  2. Vibhu

    February 15, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    Is this a review or just a lame casual guy commenting on the movie instead of analyzing any bit of it specifically?? At least get the writing style in order please. And Harry Potter?? That does not even make a sense! Please learn something..

  3. sam

    February 16, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    pratyush are u crazy! this happens to be a visual aesome spectace and you give two stars? 3 stars could have at least been given! bms cant review a movie!

  4. Sourobh Das

    February 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    I feel so sorry for you and your taste in movies. You didn’t enjoy the most amazing film of this year??! A film everyone around the world is liking and aprreciating so much, a film so well-made, a film so boldly directed, a film so cleverly edited, a film so well-told! And, you want to be comment on the acting?? WOW!!! Really feel sorry for your taste, Mr. Prtayush Cavutur!!

  5. Sourobh Das

    February 17, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    I feel so sorry for you and your taste in movies. You didn’t enjoy the most amazing film of this year??! A film everyone around the world is liking and aprreciating so much, a film so well-made, a film so boldly directed, a film so cleverly edited, a film so well-told! And, you want to comment on the acting?? WOW!!! Really feel sorry for your taste, Mr. Pratyush Cavutur!!

  6. Shabbir

    February 26, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Shows the ignorance of Mr. Cavutur, no taste in cinema …. probable paid review to promoted other movies playing simultaneously

  7. Rupen Mehta

    February 27, 2013 at 6:34 am

    Pratyush, I fully agree with you. This is the the worst English movie I have seen in recent times.

  8. Rahul Sharma

    February 27, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    One of the most Intense & gripping movie of the year. It’s not your regular movie, wherein you know what you are looking for. You have to be with movie to understand it. It looks like reviewer was having preconceived notions about the movie and was most of the time was busy comparing the movie with his known facts. Which has let to his frustration with movie, in other words during the movie he was always thinking “Kya bakwas chal raha hain yaar, this is not possible.”
    The movie is based on first hand account and we cannot blame it for not being perfectly accurate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


− 6 = one

More in Film Reviews

All articles/blogs are intended to inform, entertain and amuse. We make no representations or guarantees about the truth, accuracy or quality of any content.

Copyright 2017 © Bigtree Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved

Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Subscribe to our email newsletter today to receive updates on the latest news!
Thank You For Subscribing To Us!

Now get regular updates on the latest entertainment news and style trends.

Providing you with the best of Bollywood, Hollywood, style and more.
Get the best in entertainment, while keeping yourself entertained!
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
×
×
WordPress Popup