Bengalis in Hyderabad, a not-for-profit cultural organization, is all set to present the 4th edition of the Hyderabad Bengali Film Festival (HBFF) from 30th June to 2nd July 2017. This year brings an all new dimension to this popular showcase of critically acclaimed Bengali cinema in the twin cities, as HBFF 2017 is introducing Telugu as its Guest Language to facilitate and uphold cultural exchange across states and people. Additionally, Feluda, the immortal creation of Satyajit Ray, turns fifty years young this year and HBFF is looking forward to commemorating this occasion in a big way.

Eight Bengali and two Telugu movies have been carefully handpicked for the festival, keeping quality and diversity in mind. Bengali movies to be screened include Buddhadeb Dasgupta`s “Tope”, Kaushik Ganguly`s “Bisorjon”, Suman Mukhopadhyay`s “Asamapto”, Atanu Ghosh`s “Abby Sen”, Suman Ghosh`s “Peace Haven” and Mainak Bhaumik`s “Bibaho Diaries”. Feluda will occupy pride of place with Sandip Ray`s “Bombaiyer Bombete” and a documentary by Sagnik Chatterjee celebrating the illustrious journey of Ray`s iconic detective.

Guest language Telugu will be proudly represented by Tharun Bhascker Dhaassyam`s “Pelli Choopulu” and Rajesh Touchriver’s “Naa Bangaru Talli”. Both have won multiple national awards and major critical acclaim. As always, we are extremely privileged to have several luminaries from the Bengali and Telugu film industry joining us. Our guests include such names as Budhhadeb Dasgupta, Abir Chatterjee, Kaushik Ganguly, Swastika Mukherjee, Sabyasachi Chakraborty, Suman Mukhopadhyay, Atanu Ghosh, Suman Ghosh, Mainak Bhaumik, Debesh Chatterjee, Arpita Ghosh, Shatarupa Sanyal, Sekhar Das, Bibhas Chakraborty, Sunitha Krishnan, Rajesh Touchriver, Tharun Bhascker and many others. Screenings aside, the audience will be treated to Q & A sessions with actors, directors, and producers after every show. A panel discussion on Bengali-Telugu cultural exchange will get a lot of valuable ideas rolling. This year, we are excited about the Federation of Film Societies of India (FFSI) partnering with HBFF to select Viewers’ and Critics Choice award winners across six categories. These awards will be given away on July 2 in a gala award ceremony at Prasad Preview Theater.



Redirecting you...

You will soon be redirected to our partners's site.
(In case your browser is blocking pop-ups, click here.)