Redirecting you...

You will soon be redirected to our partners's site.
(In case your browser is blocking pop-ups, click here.)

Indian Premier League 2019

The Indian Premier League is the most viewed Cricket league on the planet. In its 11 years of history, the tournament has gone through enough ups and downs to become cinema fodder at some point in the future. The last season of the IPL attracted over 1.4 billion viewership, a staggering 15% growth from its previous edition. The 12th season of the IPL is around the corner and if internet anticipation is anything to go by, there will be more eyes watching the cricket madness unfold this year than ever before. IPL 2019 is also host to inevitable team changes, bringing in fresh unseen talent and rotating older players. Fan favorite Delhi Daredevils will be known as the Delhi Capitals from this season. With over ₹100 crores spent to buy 60 players, this year’s player auction was more competitive than some earlier seasons.

Owing to the Indian general elections taking place this year, it was earlier speculated that the IPL 2019 may be hosted overseas. In the past, two editions of the tournament have been held abroad- 2009 in South Africa and 2014 partly in the UAE. The Committee of Administrators announced earlier this month that the 12th edition of India will be held in India commencing on March 23rd.

The IPL is a hugely successful sporting venture that tends to align India’s two biggest obsessions (cricket and Bollywood) seamlessly together. The IPL is valued at over $4 billion. This annual extravaganza began in 2008 when Rajasthan Royals took home the inaugural trophy under their leader and Cricket legend Shane Warne. The first season gave us a glimpse of the road down which Cricket was going to go in the future. Brandon McCullum’s (KKR) 158* off 73 balls is still a fresh memory for numerous IPL fans. Arguably the most domineering player on the IPL turf is Chris Gayle. However, it was Shaun Marsh who was awarded the orange cap in IPL 2008. The Orange cap is awarded to the highest run scorer in a given season. Since its inaugural year, the orange cap has gone from Matthew Hayden to Sachin Tendulkar to Chris Gayle to more recently Kane Williamson. The Purple cap on the other hand, is awarded to the highest wicket taker in a given season.


team nameplayedwonlosttiedpoints
Mumbai Indians1495018
Chennai Super Kings1495018
Delhi Capitals1495018
Sunrisers Hyderabad1468012
Kolkata Knight Riders1468012
Kings XI Punjab1468012
Rajasthan Royals1458011
Royal Challengers Bangalore1458011

David Warner

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Total Runs: 692

Imran Tahir

Chennai Super Kings

Total Wickets: 26