Neeraj Vora

  • Actor, Director, Writer, Music, Screenplay, Dialogue Writer, Lyricist

Jan 22, 1963  in Bhuj, Gujarat, India

No ads

A film director, screenwriter, actor, and composer, Neeraj Vora has donned several hats during his association with the film industry. Hailing from a family of musicians, Neeraj, like his father, played the Tar - Shehnai and was not permitted watch movies or listen to its music. However, many prominent Gujarati theatre actors knew his father personally, which drew Neeraj's interest towards Gujarati theatre at the age of six.

Neeraj's rendezvous with acting happened during his college days, where he started participating in intercollegiate drama competitions. Encouraged by his father to pursue his passion for acting, Neeraj made his feature film debut in 1984 with Ketan Mehta's Holi. He then made his foray into the television industry with shows like Choti Badi Baatein and Circus.

However, he gained a massive appreciation for his work as a writer. Making his debut as a writer, he was associated with the 1993 movie Pehla Nasha but his work as the dialogue writer in the Aamir Khan, Urmila Matondkar, and Jackie Shroff-starrer Rangeela won him widespread acclaim. He then went on to be associated with movies such as Baadshah, Hera Pheri, Josh, Chori Chori Chupke Chupke, Awara Paagal Deewana, Hungama, Hulchul, Garam Masala, Golmaal: Fun Unlimited, and Bhool Bhulaiyaa among few others.

Meanwhile, he also pursued his career as an actor and director. Making his directorial debut, Neeraj directed the Akshay Kumar and Mahima Chaudhry-starrer crime action-drama Khiladi 420, following which he directed Phir Hera Pheri, and Shortkut - The Con Is On. As an actor, he has appeared in supporting roles in movies like Raju Ban Gaya Gentleman, Akele Hum Akele Tum, Virasat, Dhadkan, Bol Bachchan, and Welcome Back to name a few.

In 2016, the multi-talented Neeraj suffered a heart attack and a brain stroke, which landed him in a coma for almost a year before he finally passed away on 14th of December, 2017.