Aruna Irani

  • Actor, Producer

Aug 18, 1946  in Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

Also Known as: Baby Aruna

No ads

A record holder for winning Filmfare Award nomination for Best Supporting role the maximum number of times (10 times) and winning the award twice, Aruna Irani is a veteran Indian actress who has starred in more than 300 films across Hindi, Marathi and Gujarati languages mostly in supporting and character roles. In her illustrious actress spanning more than 55 years, Aruna has worked with some of the biggest actors and directors in Bollywood. For his immense contribution to cinema, the actress was honored with the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award at the 57th Filmfare Awards in 2012.

Born and raised in Mumbai, Aruan inherited acting genes from her parents; her father, Faredun Irani ran a drama troupe and her mother, Saguna was an actress. The eldest of eight siblings, Aruna had to give up studying after the sixth standard because her family could not afford the education of all the children.

Aruna made her debut on the silver screen at a very young age, in her maiden appearance on the silver screen in Gunga Jumna, she played the childhood character of the lead actress Azra. She subsequently played minor roles in Anpadh (1962), Farz (1967), Humjoli (1970), and Naya Zamana (1971), before eventually playing her maiden lead role in the cult comedy Bombay to Goa (1972). The actress played mostly lead or important supporting roles during the 70`s before eventually switching to doing motherly and character roles.

Apart from a successful career in the film industry, Aruna Irani also has worked extensively in the TV industry. The actress who forayed in the TV very late in her career made her debut appearance on the small screen with the soap, Des Mein Nikla Hoga Chand (2001-2005), which was aired on Star Plus. The serial was produced her own production company, AK Films. Her other notable small-screen credits include Tum Bin Jaaoon Kahaan (2003-05), Vaidehi (2006), Jhansi Ki Rani (2009-11), Dekha Ek Khwaab (2011-12), and SauBhagyalaxmi (2016).